Windows are going in!!!


Joe, the Weather Man, had the audacity to come on the television today and tell us that we were getting snow today. What the heck? This is New Window Day! We can’t have snow. How can Dewey the Windows Guy put my new windows in if it’s snowing?!

At that point in the morning, I was having a Hee Haw moment of epic proportions:

(Doom, despair and agony on me. Deep dark depression, excessive misery! If it weren’t for bad luck, I’d have no luck at all. Doom, despair and agony on meeee! – This pity party moment brought to you by the good folks at Hee Haw)

But wait!  Dewey, my trusty Windows Guy, called and let me know we’re still on for the windows!!

At this very moment, even though it is snowing, there are two guys installing my new windows. I’m just blown away by the fact that it doesn’t matter that it’s snowing. So far, I have two windows completely installed. After over 10 years of  not being able to open but one window in the house, I can now just waltz over to both of those windows and open them. With one hand. Even though it’s snowing. My life is so fabulous, I just can’t adequately quantify it, and I’m just barely holding it together against crying for joy. No joking.

Most of you, my Eleven Faithful Readers, are probably wondering what the fuss is about. Just the act of being able to open my windows is such a huge deal, you can’t even imagine. This is just the gravy on top of this yummy pile of mashed potatoes, as I will also have a lowered heat bill, and some sound proofing against noise from the road, the train and the helicopters. The old saying is true…little things count. They count for a lot. I am so blessed.

About Sparrow
I am a 47 years young and the mother of two amazing young men, who've grown up and left me mostly an Empty-Nester. I write about what's going on in my little corner of the High Plains, or what happens to be crawling across my brain on a given day. Thank you so much for stopping by. Make yourself at home...through the magic of the internet, the coffee's always free and the doughnuts are fresh!

6 Responses to Windows are going in!!!

  1. TheIdiotSpeaketh says:

    I’m still stealing his pick-up line for future use if I need it….. “Hi Darlin….I’m Dewey….the window guy”……. Glad you are getting the windows squared away Sparrow…. Have a great weekend! 🙂

    • sparrow1969 says:

      LOL. That might even make a good things to put on your name tag next time you have to visit someone in the hospital!!

      Thanks, Mark…you have a great weekend too!

  2. Brea says:

    I am so happy for you, my friend! I can’t wait till we can do the same up here on the hill! Much happy dancing for your joy!

    BTW, not going to be able to make the movie this weekend, due to excessive vehicle failure. ack.
    anyway, I’ll call you.

    • sparrow1969 says:

      Oh no!! Not excessive vehicular failure! 😦

      I’m so sorry to hear that. I would offer to drive, but between my job and Older Son’s my trusty van will be already going there and here all weekend. That’s ok…I don’t expect the movie will be gone any time soon.

      I hope the vehicular failure gets remedied for you soon!

  3. TheIdiotSpeaketh says:

    You have a HILL in North Dakota? Are we talking like a huge snowdrift or something?

  4. sparrow1969 says:

    Yes, actually, we have two: North Hill and South Hill. That’s what we call the two sides of the valley that our fair city is situated on though. Truth be told, on this end of the State we do have rolling hills…it’s genuine rolling prairie out here. Beautiful!

    If you want to see how beautiful North Dakota is, I can’t recommend Jessie Veeder’s blog highly enough: http://veederranch.com/2010/12/03/extreme-makeover-winter-edition/

    Now, you go on the other end of the State and it’s flat-as-a-pancake. Just like a table top…no joking!

Leave a Reply

