Younger Son: “I make baking manly!”


Periodically, Younger Son will bake something. Being a teen age boy he’s perpetually starving, so his interest in baking serves him well.  Today he baked chocolate chip cookies, and did so without much in the way of coaching from me. He’s getting better at it as time goes on, which I’m grateful for. Not only will he be able to bake for himself when he gets out on his own, but I get to reap the benefits of his interest in baking now.

There’s nothing like chocolate chip cookies fresh out of the oven…especially when someone else bakes them!

The interesting part of this story (well, to me anyway) is that as Younger Son stood around proudly eating one of his fresh cookies, he announced to me: “I make baking manly”. I just nearly fell out of my chair trying desperately not to laugh out loud. I did manage to say, “Yes, honey…you certainly do”  between bites of a hot cookie.

He watches a lot of cooking shows, most of which are hosted by men, and I’m kind of glad for that. I want both of my boys to be able to cook for themselves when they get out on their own.  Older Son is taking a class at school all about food, and loves it. I wish I could get him to cook more at home. I’m going to have to corral him in the kitchen and teach him his favorite recipes whether he likes it or not.

What I really need to do is write down all of the boys’ favorite recipes. Many of them I have stashed in the computer, or on various smudged recipe cards…or they are just recipes that are stored in my head. I really need to get those written down. Both Older and Younger made me promise to compile all of my recipes for them for when they go out on their own. The last time we talked about it was a couple of years ago, and pretty soon Older Son will be off to college. I need to get the lead out and get this project rolling.

But, for now…I think there’s a warm cookie calling my name!

About Sparrow
I am a 47 years young and the mother of two amazing young men, who've grown up and left me mostly an Empty-Nester. I write about what's going on in my little corner of the High Plains, or what happens to be crawling across my brain on a given day. Thank you so much for stopping by. Make yourself at home...through the magic of the internet, the coffee's always free and the doughnuts are fresh!

6 Responses to Younger Son: “I make baking manly!”

  1. TheIdiotSpeaketh says:

    As the man of the house that does ALL of the cooking….you tell your boys that a guy who can cook is very manly, in fact, tell them that “chicks really dig a guy who knows his way around the kitchen”. 🙂 Now…if you will excuse me….. I have a pie in the oven……

  2. sparrow1969 says:

    Pie!!!

    Hmm…I love pie. What kind is it? Pumpkin? Apple?

    It’s said that the way to a man’s heart is through is stomach. I would submit that it goes both ways! Rock on Chef!

  3. Brea says:

    LOL, you know my man bakes! He’s been having a lot of fun lately, baking with YoungerDaughter. They made rosettes last weekend, and are planning on doing it again for X-mas.

    Both my girls know how to cook basic things, and they have their favorites that they want to make all the time. My son, well, since he only eats chicken, is going to have to learn some of the things that go into that, but not for a couple of years, yet. 12-year old and hot grease *shudder*, nope, not ready for that yet!

    I salute you! Teaching kids to fend for themselves is an ominous task, and while people that can cook for themselves will always be fed, people that can BAKE will always be surrounded by lots of friends – looking for cookies! 😉

  4. anjiknut says:

    My youngest son worked in a restaurant a couple of summers ago, so he taught ME a few tricks. My husband doesn’t know where the kitchen is. Fortunately my future son-in-law is a really great cook. When he and my daughter visit it’s great to get together in the kitchen and prepare a family meal.

    • sparrow1969 says:

      Hi Angie,

      Ohhhh…. getting together in the kitchen while preparing a meal sounds like fun! I’m working on getting my kids interested in cooking meals, and not just baking goodies, which will hopefully blossom into more togetherness fun in the kitchen.

      Thanks so much for stopping by!

Leave a Reply

