What’s in a date?


Yesterday was a strange day. I looked up at the calendar and realized that it’s the first anniversary of my divorce. Hmm.

I kind of thought I should feel something about that, and strangely I didn’t. Hmmmm.

All day yesterday I was concerned more about having to be moved to a new job and all the stuff that needs to be done before then. I happened to see my ex walk by my office door yesterday (we work at the same place), and all I could think was what a sad and strange little man he actually is. I felt nothing except irritated at having had to see him.

So, what’s in a date? Nothing but what you assign it. I guess yesterday wasn’t so bad after all.

About Sparrow
I am a 47 years young and the mother of two amazing young men, who've grown up and left me mostly an Empty-Nester. I write about what's going on in my little corner of the High Plains, or what happens to be crawling across my brain on a given day. Thank you so much for stopping by. Make yourself at home...through the magic of the internet, the coffee's always free and the doughnuts are fresh!

6 Responses to What’s in a date?

  1. Karen says:

    you have grown much……we offer the “everything that has happened” up to the Divine’s hands, wash our hands of it, and move on….congrats baby….you have done it!

    • sparrow1969 says:

      Absolutely, Karen…if I didn’t have that outlet of giving all of that up to Divine Hands, I might have exploded. Much thanks to you for all of your advice and help over the last year. You’re a big part of how I survived..HUGS!

  2. John says:

    First, congratulations on being able to move forward. I just experienced the same thing two days ago on the 11th. I didn’t think it would bother me much, but for some reason it did. I experienced a combo of sadness (in remembering what was) and anger (in the waste of what was thrown away — at least in my mind).

    You are correct in that a date is only worth as much as you assign it. I suppose I really need to take that advice. Part of me wants to acknowledge what that date meant for the many years before, that weren’t all bad, but another part of me knows I need to just forget it, move forward and never look back.

    • sparrow1969 says:

      Hi John,

      I hear what you’re saying about acknowledging that some of the years before weren’t bad. That’s been the hardest part for me, I think, is to try to integrate my past history with current times. You can’t just throw the baby out with the bathwater, but I would have liked to in the beginning. Now all I want is to just keep moving forward.

      Thanks for stopping by and the comment!

  3. TheIdiotSpeaketh says:

    That sucks that you still work at the same place as him. It was always easy for me to deal with my ex in that she was 2,000 miles away and I never had to worry about her walking past a doorway. Keep moving forward and cherish your two boys. They are lucky to have you as their mom! šŸ™‚

    • sparrow1969 says:

      Aww…Mark! Thank you for your kind words. I hope the boys can look back on this time and find something positive from it.

      As far as my ex-goes, he pretty much leaves me alone at work. I only see him when our paths accidentally collide, which is another thing to be thankful for.

Leave a Reply

