A close call at The Cube Farm


I am one of those American’s with two jobs. I have a regular day job, and then I work at The Big Box Store on evenings and weekends. Where do I work during the day? Let’s call it The Cube Farm. For those of you unfamiliar with the term, a Cube Farm is a really big building with a crap load of people working in an endless field of cubicles.

It just so happens that I work at a Multinational Cube Farm Operation, which is going through a phase of restructuring. We got an announcement this morning that a part of the restructuring would cause 400 people in the US to lose their jobs, and another 200 open positions would be eliminated…everyone who was affected would be notified by the end of the day.

It just so happens that my position, and that of my partner, were some of those that were done away with. We got lucky, though. There were open positions that needed filling, so they just moved us to those jobs. She and I won’t work together anymore after the 1st of the year, and that makes me sad. We only got to work together for five months, but it has been grand. I sure will miss my new boss too. Where I’m going, they are hiring for a new supervisor, so I don’t know who I’m working for just yet. Keep your fingers crossed for me that it is someone as great as my last two supervisors have been.

As much as I hate that I have been shuffled around and stuck in a job that I never wanted, there is a lot of good news here:

1. My kids will continue to get fed.

2. I didn’t have to take a pay cut, like some people I know at The Cube Farm who did.

3. I still have my benefits.

4. If I really hate my new job, I can start looking around The Cube Farm for something more interesting after a year.

5. I can take my time and look outside of The Cube Farm if I choose to, and I’m giving that some thought. I’m seriously giving it some thought.

The people I feel bad for tonight are those 400 people who got let go. Yes, they got a severance, but they still have to try to find a job.  In this economic climate that’s not easy, especially this time of year.

It’s time for me to hit the rack, and I’m going to go to sleep tonight thanking my lucky stars that I will wake up tomorrow employed. One more reason to feel blessed.

 

About Sparrow
I am a 47 years young and the mother of two amazing young men, who've grown up and left me mostly an Empty-Nester. I write about what's going on in my little corner of the High Plains, or what happens to be crawling across my brain on a given day. Thank you so much for stopping by. Make yourself at home...through the magic of the internet, the coffee's always free and the doughnuts are fresh!

7 Responses to A close call at The Cube Farm

  1. Brea says:

    Criminy! You’re not a deck of cards to be shuffled, woman! I’m glad you were still able to get into one of the other positions, though. Nothing like having the bomb dropped. I feel bad for those that got drop-kicked as well.

    I remember that feeling of shock and disbelief and general “untetherdness” I felt when that web place I worked for closed shop. *shudder*

    (HUG)

  2. Texanna says:

    I’m happy to hear that you were able to keep your job. Now & then, I’ve held part-time jobs in additon to my full time job & its better than having no job at all. Like you, I’ve always been grateful for what I have.

  3. Glad you made it through the cuts! I love how you call it a Cube Farm…it is so appropriate!

  4. TheIdiotSpeaketh says:

    Whew! It always kills me that these companies do this crap right before the holidays. There are no GOOD times to lose your job but there are more tolerable times of the year! Glad you are OK! 🙂

  5. sparrow1969 says:

    Thanks so much for your support guys!

    As things turn out, our Cube Farm got lucky, for the most part. A total of four people were shifted around and only two lost their jobs. Others at our sister Cube Farms across the nation weren’t so fortunate. Big swaths of people lost their jobs. Oh man…

    This is the third time in eleven years I’ve been downsized out of my job and moved somewhere else within this Cube Farm…I’m starting to wonder if I’ve just officially used up all my luck there.

  6. frolicking lady says:

    Glad you made the cut. Or is it didn’t make the cut? Either way, glad you still have your job and the flexibility to look for other work if or when you’re ready.

  7. This post makes me think of the quote from the movie the “Office Space” “Human beings were not meant to sit in little cubicles staring at computer screens all day, filling out useless forms and listening to eight different bosses drone on about about mission statements.”

Leave a Reply

