Walking barefoot in November…a bigger blessing than I would have imagined


Today is a good day. I’m done working at The Big Box Store for the day, and I’ve had my lunch. But that’s not the best part. The best part of today is that it is 61 degrees outside, and I walked to my mail box today in my bare feet. In November.

In North Dakota. That’s right…”We’re having a heat waaaaaave, a tropical heat waaaaave….” Whoo!!

Usually we’re shoveling show right about now. In fact, we already had our first snow storm of the year, but it has all melted away, and life is good again. Or at least it was feeling pretty good until they showed up.

My ex came to pick up Younger Son today, and just happened to bring his sleezeball girlfriend with him. After a year, one would think that I would be over having to witness the reality of this woman, but for some reason, it still messes with my head. This woman has some pretty big brass ovaries, shoving herself into my life and the lives of my kids. She’s probably going to want my grandchildren to call her ‘Grandma’…

…not while I have breath in my body. But, I digress.

Anyway, as I was saying, it was such a blessing being able to walk in the grass in my bare feet, and feel the sunshine and warm breeze on my skin. It doesn’t blot out the bad stuff, but it goes a long way to making me feel better. These warm days are precious and numbered. The Weather Guy says we’ll be back to the regularly scheduled weather program by the middle of the week. Time to get back outside and enjoy it while I can!

About Sparrow
I am a 47 years young and the mother of two amazing young men, who've grown up and left me mostly an Empty-Nester. I write about what's going on in my little corner of the High Plains, or what happens to be crawling across my brain on a given day. Thank you so much for stopping by. Make yourself at home...through the magic of the internet, the coffee's always free and the doughnuts are fresh!

11 Responses to Walking barefoot in November…a bigger blessing than I would have imagined

  1. Karen says:

    listen babe….I am my grandchildren’s grandma….no one else takes that place and they have tried….also, you can request him to leave the Bi-atch at home when he comes pick up the kids.

    grrrr

    it is beautiful here too…John and i had a picnic by a lake and I was wearing slax and a sweater

    • sparrow1969 says:

      You’re right Karen…I know I shouldn’t borrow trouble before it even arrives. And yet, I find myself pondering what life will be like when grandchildren land on the scene.

      OH…I picnic by the lake with your sweetheart…Sounds lovely!!! 🙂

  2. TheIdiotSpeaketh says:

    Ya know…I could almost hear “Heatwave” by Linda Ronstadt while I was reading this post! Thanks! 🙂

    • sparrow1969 says:

      OH…Linda Ronstadt!

      She seemed to have dropped off the music scene, but Wikipedia, FWTW, tells a different story. Apparently she did have some rock and roll recordings come out in more recent years…Hmm. I feel a post coming on!

  3. frolicking lady says:

    Man sorry you have to put up with that woman. I’ve had lots of practice with my Dad’s girlfriends….step mothers…..etc. etc……if it’s any consolation, your children probably hate her and treat her like sh*t.

    One of my favorite guilty pleasures is coming up with really cuting remarks – hitting where it really counts – ’cause let’s all face it, when I’m not using my psychology training to help my clients, it’s awfully fun to use it to verbally beat up anyone who annoys or pisses me off. Ya wanna feed me some details about this woman so I can have fun thinking up some zingers? 😉

    • sparrow1969 says:

      LOL…Frolicking Lady, you crack me up! To be honest, I don’t know much about her. Apparently she’s an artist, and the children tell me has a permanent limp and uses a breathing machine. It’s so loud at night, they refuse to stay over at their Dad’s because it’s like having Darth Vader in the house. I’m guessing she’s also quite the sugar-mama. They just moved into an outrageously priced three bedroom apartment, and I know my ex doesn’t have the cash for that.

      • frolicking lady says:

        A permanent limp and a breathing machine!!!!! OMG THAT’S AWESOME! Gosh I hate to make fun of anyone for having a permanent limp or needing a breathing machine but it’s killing me to hold back! Please tell me she’s a smoker or something?! But sounds like ya’ll have that part worked out anyway….Darth Vader sounds……PERFECT. 😀

        As for an artist and a sugar mama? Hmmmm….very fertile territory….

        For me to really come up with some zingers I would need to know what kinds of things really piss her off, upset her, that sort of thing. Ever seen her get irritated? Is she the type that is sickly sweet to you and smiles serenly when she comes by? Little tidbit of conersations with her in passing at your house….it’s amazing what people reveal without even realizing it.

        The best put downs of course in such a situation is the back handed compliment. Where it sounds like you just said something nice but in fact you insulted the person. If anyone objects then you simply point out that they totally mistook your meaning and you’re very sorry about any hurt feelings. Apologize convincingly. They will still walk away feeling hurt and upset and then also like they’re being totally unreasonable for not just accepting your apology at face value.

        Manipulation and verbal torture are really an underutilized artform….don’t you think? 😉

      • sparrow1969 says:

        You know, I’ve never actually spoken to her. My ex is super careful to keep us separate because he knows how disgusted I am about what they did. She always stays in the car, and the other day was the first time I’d ever personally laid eyes on her in the year she’s lived in town. Truth be told, I don’t even have any desire to work up the energy to insult her…she isn’t worth the breath it would take.

        Thanks for having my back, though…you rock!!! 🙂

  4. frolicking lady says:

    You are right – she is not worth it. 🙂

  5. Brea says:

    I’m sitting here “lol”ling because it wasn’t Linda Ronstadt I heard when I saw the lyrics. It was Danny Kaye from “White Christmas”! Ironic, that.

    I’m just praying for 1 more day without the white stuff, as Younger has her driver’s test tomorrow. ack.

    And you’re right, Darth isn’t worth the breath you’d have to waste to insult her. And without her machine, she wouldn’t have the breath to respond. But I can still make wisecracks under MY breath, right? *pleez?*

    • sparrow1969 says:

      lol…Yes Brea, you can make all the wise cracks you like. Next time I see you and you’re chortling for no apparent reason, I’ll know what you’re thinking about!

Leave a Reply

