Paying it backwards at Starbucks


The other morning, I had some extra time so I stopped at Starbucks to pick up a Dark Cherry Mocha…hmm…yummy!

Unfortunately, they replaced my favorite coffee with Pumpkin Spice Latte. I definitely got the impression that the Coffee Gods had abandoned me. Well, what to do? Order the next best thing, a White Chocolate Mocha.

When I got up to the window, the lady told me that the person in the car ahead of me had paid for my coffee!! I love it when this happens. Not because I get a free coffee, because I don’t. If someone in the car ahead of me pays for my coffee, I always put my money toward the coffee in the car behind me. It’s like a great big chain of coffee-laden generosity that just keeps gaining momentum. Last year, while in the middle of one of these occurrences, the Starbucks Lady told me that I was car #20 that had participated that morning. I hoped it went all day long.

Paying it backward, if you’ll forgive the turn of phrase, is a good way to get yourself out of a crabby funk. One day I went there to pick up a coffee, and I was feeling so completely miserable I didn’t know what to do with myself. So, I pulled out a $20, paid  my coffee, the coffee in the car behind me, and gave the rest to the Starbucks Lady.  It didn’t necessarily make me feel better that I paid for someone else’s coffee, but it did make me feel better to think about the smile on the Starbucks Lady’s face, and about the surprise the car behind me was going to get. It also made me feel better to think that perhaps I started a chain of coffee-laden happiness that lasted for more than just a few cars. I doubt that it went on all day, but one can hope.

If you haven’t ever done this before, give it a try. You don’t have to wait until Christmas, though that is the most common time of year to experience it, and you don’t have to only do it at Starbucks. This should work in pretty much any drive through. Give it a try. I bet it will make your day.

 

About Sparrow
I am a 47 years young and the mother of two amazing young men, who've grown up and left me mostly an Empty-Nester. I write about what's going on in my little corner of the High Plains, or what happens to be crawling across my brain on a given day. Thank you so much for stopping by. Make yourself at home...through the magic of the internet, the coffee's always free and the doughnuts are fresh!

14 Responses to Paying it backwards at Starbucks

  1. I need to roll with you!

  2. TheIdiotSpeaketh says:

    First of all, this is great! I have heard of that in our area, and sure enough it is always Starbucks where it occurs! Why not anywhere else? I would love to run into this nice gesture at the Grocery Store when I have $200 worth of groceries spilling out of the basket…..but nooooooooooooooooooo…….. 🙂

  3. That’s awesome! I am going to do that (assuming I actually have enough cash to pay for someone else!)

  4. datGurl! says:

    now thats a great idea! I LOVE IT! never heard of it tho. Maybe its that I dont go thru the drive thru of Starbucks as much as I opt to search 5 mins for a parking space and then stand in line behind 5 people(one for each minute I search for a space) and be late for work. And no one is offerin’ to pay for mine. . Im such a masichist. lol*

    Its a nice generous gesture. Its nice to make someone’s day they might need it, and give you a dayumm good feelin’ too.

    I feel all warm and squishy inside just thinkin about it…

    thankx for sharin’!~

    dGb!

  5. Pingback: Start of Something Good | maximizeimpact

Leave a Reply

