A Good Day, Despite the Election


I got up a little early this morning, and both of the boys woke up without any trouble. I’m almost tempted to ask, “What’s up with that?”, but I won’t. I don’t want to look a gift horse in the mouth.

It’s very rare that I don’t abuse my snooze button several times before crawling my sorry carcass out of bed in the morning. Today, I think I only hit the button once, and it wasn’t even a good smash…just a quiet tap. The really bizarre thing is that I don’t feel as dragged out and tired as I have for the last couple of weeks. Perhaps having a couple of days off from The Big Box Store has helped. Even still, I always feel dragged out and tired, so I will not take the gift of some extra energy lightly.

Something that does make me feel a little emotionally tired is what I heard on the radio this morning. Apparently the Republicans gained 60 seats in the House last night. I don’t identify with either Democrats or Republicans…I consider myself Independent. I never considered Nancy Pelosi any prize, in fact, I didn’t like her much at all, but I’m hearing now that John Boehner will be the next Speaker of the House. I find him even less trust-worthy than Pelosi…in fact, I find him downright creepy.  Out of the frying pan, into the fire.

Oh well…if we wait long enough, things will change again. They always do.

About Sparrow
I am a 47 years young and the mother of two amazing young men, who've grown up and left me mostly an Empty-Nester. I write about what's going on in my little corner of the High Plains, or what happens to be crawling across my brain on a given day. Thank you so much for stopping by. Make yourself at home...through the magic of the internet, the coffee's always free and the doughnuts are fresh!

9 Responses to A Good Day, Despite the Election

  1. Texanna says:

    I agree with your feelings on the elections results. I don’t think anyone was surprised by it.
    I also think Boehner IS creepy & I wasn’t happy with Pelosi either.
    BUT the “pressure” is now on the republicans to accomplish something…anything, that will help them in the 2012 election. Otherwise it will be a big victory for the Democrats in 2012.

  2. Brea says:

    Any day you can get kids out of bed without coaxing or cold water is a PLUS!

    Glad you’re feeling a little better, I can’t imagine holding down a second job, even a part time one while trying to raise 2 teenagers, so I salute you. You are a helluva a mom, woman, and friend.

    Hang on, Friday will be here soon!

  3. TheIdiotSpeaketh says:

    Snooze button? Alarm clock? what are these things? 🙂

    • sparrow1969 says:

      What? Are you one of those guys who can just get up when early without an alarm?! My Dad is like that, and it makes me jealous…Of all the things he could have passed on to me genetically, that would have been one of the helpful things!

  4. Sparrow, being a CA, Pelosi is the not the better of the evils…. 🙂 He may be Satan, but she is the Anti-Christ:-)

Leave a Reply

