One Holiday At A Time, PLEASE!


As I was leaving after work at The Big Box Store for the night yesterday, I ran into a friend/co-worker who was putting up the Christmas tree. Yep…it was Halloween night, and we’re already putting up the Christmas trees. I just wanted to groan out loud. We hadn’t even got to fully enjoy Halloween before Christmas is already being advertised, and skipping right over Thanksgiving, which is another 25 days away.

Sigh…I’m already feeling a little beat up by Christmas, and it’s only November 1st.

Part of it is that I really love Thanksgiving. It’s my favorite holiday of all, and it always gets kind of drowned out by Christmas before it even has a chance to arrive. Another part of it is that Christmas has gotten to be such an over-commercialized behemoth, that by the time I get to the Day, I’m so grateful to have it finished I could cry for joy.Β  I always feel more than a little relieved between Christmas and New Years Day.

So, in protest of this holiday over-crowding, I’m changing the background on my blog to reflect the next holiday coming up. It’s but a small squeak in the dark, but it’s my squeak, and I’m sticking to it.

About Sparrow
I am a 47 years young and the mother of two amazing young men, who've grown up and left me mostly an Empty-Nester. I write about what's going on in my little corner of the High Plains, or what happens to be crawling across my brain on a given day. Thank you so much for stopping by. Make yourself at home...through the magic of the internet, the coffee's always free and the doughnuts are fresh!

7 Responses to One Holiday At A Time, PLEASE!

  1. Karen says:

    boy do I agree with that. My son’s fave is Thanksgiving….I just love Autumn, and Xmas is just meaningless because of the consumerism…altho I still cry at Folger coffee commercials…being home for Xmas…..the consumer buildup…..I try and slow everything down and not get vcaught up with all the consumerism……sigh…but we can only do what we can…..
    love Hel’wyse

  2. TheIdiotSpeaketh says:

    Good Grief! Already?????? You have got to be kidding! It’s almost 2 months away!! I cringed when I went in to the local Wal-MArt and saw they were clearing out the home and garden section…in preparation for bringing out all the Christmas stuff…. It’s still pushing 80 degrees here….it’s not Christmas time yet ya morons!! πŸ™‚

    • sparrow1969 says:

      lol…I agree. Our Wal-mart has had the lawn and garden swapped out for Christmas stuff for a couple of weeks now. It gives me no feeling of Christmas spirit, that’s for sure.

  3. I can only imagine what you have to deal with… Preach it sister!

Leave a Reply

