Investing in a new family member


One of only two pictures I have of Georgette's face. She really despised having her picture taken, and would always turn her butt to me. I always loved her Liz Taylor eyes.

I used to have a cat named Georgette. She was a snuggler by nature, and would definitely jump up into your lap and sit on whatever mostly flat surface you had to offer. She loved to have her armpits scratched, but she didn’t like to be picked up and held. She wasn’t a big fan of men either, though she got to like a few. I had a friend who hooked me up with someone else who needed to get rid of her. Apparently this person didn’t like her long hair getting all over everything. Originally we thought she was some kind of Himalayan half-breed, but found out later after some research and a chat with a breeder, that she was a Ragdoll.

She had a history of being picked up at a Humane Society in South Dakota by a girl I used to babysit in my youth. This poor cat had been left on the doorstep of the Human Society on a Friday evening, and was there all night by herself during a thunderstorm. Any time there was a storm, or banging, she would hit the basement…she never did get over that. When she came to us, she had such rotten teeth that she had to have a couple of them pulled, and the rest sonically cleaned. That’s what a straight diet of wet food and no teeth cleanings will get a cat – tooth decay.

When she came to live with us, we knew she was a few years old, but I don’t think we knew just how old she was. She lived with us for 10 years, and then she got sick. Apparently she had kidney failure, which is very common in old cats. Inevitably, she had to be put to sleep, and it was a sad day.  She was definitely a member of the family and is missed terribly. She’s been gone two years, and the kids are really interested in getting a new cat.

Georgette will be a tough act to follow. She was a good cat. She never got up on the counters or tables, and never dug in the garbage. She wasn’t one for peeing on stuff either. She was a miracle. I hear other people talk about their cats, and I thank my lucky stars that she was well behaved and never vindictive, as cats very often are. Frankly, she spoiled us that way. She only had a couple of strange habits. The first we discovered during the first Easter she lived with us. She had a strange fascination with eating Easter Grass, string, brooms fronds…anything really string-like. I discovered this one day as I saw her hopping up the stairs…she was dragging bits of poop behind her, all connected together with a couple of strands of Easter Grass. The funny (now, it’s funny) thing is that it took me three trips up and down the stairs to catch her so I could dislodge said mess from her backside. Please note that Easter Grass will pass through a cat, and never disintegrate. Very strong stuff.

The second strange habit she had, was the love of the ferny green stuff that comes with store-bought flowers. While she never had a habit of getting on top of the table or counter tops, if we had fresh flowers in the house all bets were off. I have an antique radio that belonged to my great grandparents, and I placed a vase of roses on it that I’d received for my birthday. When I came home later that day, the roses and vase were all over the floor, and Georgette was rolling in and eating the green ferny stuff that came with the roses. Her eyes were all rolling around like she’d just smoked the Best Crack EVER. I learned really quick that it was just best to take the ferny stuff out and give it to her, thereby saving my flowers from destruction! Strangely enough, she didn’t care for catnip at all.

What prompts this blog post is that I had a dream about Georgette recently. My kids and I were at a house that I didn’t recognize, and Georgette was there with this other cat. I kept trying to pick her up, and she wiggled away, which isn’t something strange for her. She wouldn’t even jump up into our laps, which is strange. The other cat, however, was allowed to jump into our laps and be petted, which is certainly High Strangeness. Georgette was a jealous beastie, and if we’d come home smelling of someone else’s pets, she wasn’t happy. This cat was unknown to me, and while I didn’t get a good look at its face, I did see its very distinctive tail…gray with tabby-like rings.

So, what gives? My sense is that maybe I’m getting ready to invest in a new family member. I’ve put it off because it’s painful to lose a pet, and I’ve not been sure that I want to do that again given their short life-spans. Also, like I said, Georgette will be a tough act to follow, and I don’t want to bring home a pet only to have it wreck my house, and make us regret to have done it.  I don’t say “adopting” when I talk about bringing a pet home for a very specific reason.

When you bring home a pet, you are investing your time, your home, your soul, and heart…or at least you should be. That’s why I don’t want to just go out and “get” a new cat. I’ll wait until just the right one is cosmically deposited into our laps. I know it will happen inevitably, but I’m kind of hoping it will be later than sooner. I’d like to get my home renovations done first. But, I guess if it’s the right one, that won’t matter.

Wish me luck!

About Sparrow
I am a 47 years young and the mother of two amazing young men, who've grown up and left me mostly an Empty-Nester. I write about what's going on in my little corner of the High Plains, or what happens to be crawling across my brain on a given day. Thank you so much for stopping by. Make yourself at home...through the magic of the internet, the coffee's always free and the doughnuts are fresh!

6 Responses to Investing in a new family member

  1. TheIdiotSpeaketh says:

    I purposely do not go in pet stores EVER because If I did, I would walk out with every cat they had! As you know, I am a cat person. Every one we have had has been a stray that we have taken in and then held hostage for the rest of their natural 9 lives. When the right cat is meant to fall into your household, you’ll know it. Just do like I do….don’t look out your windows, always keep your garage closed, and if you hear meowing at your door, turn up your stereo real loud. Once you let the little buggers in, they never leave! 🙂

  2. My pooch is a pound puppy and she is in the thick of the family circle. I feel a pet brightens a home in so many ways. I loved this post and made me really be thankful I have my Sadie Dog!

    • sparrow1969 says:

      I had a dog named Sadie when I was a kid. We lived right on the Canadian border, and if she got loose, she would always run into Canada! Thank goodness we lived out in the boonies, and the Canadian border guards knew us. They would laugh as they waved my brother and I through the border station as we were racing up the highway on our bikes with a pocket full of Gainsburgers to entice her back with!

  3. Texanna says:

    I loved your story about Georgette.
    In my life, I’ve had several dreams that later came true. So I’m guessing that you will get another cat OR perhaps your former cat appeared in your dream just to let you know….she’s ok.

    • sparrow1969 says:

      Thanks, Texanna! I’m guessing it’s a little of both in this case. I’ve had dreams that have come true as well. Now, every cat I see, I’m looking at the tail markings. Also, Georgette was really ill when we finally had her put down, and it was a bad time. It was nice to have that vision of her being healthy and whole again.

Leave a Reply

