A Winter Whiner Who’s Digging for Blessings in the Snow


It was inevitable that Winter would show up. We were so terribly spoiled with the beautiful Indian Summer we experienced this year, and it seemed like it could just go on forever. Just this weekend we were wearing shorts and no jackets. Today, we have four inches of snow on the ground, and blizzard conditions. Uff-da.

If Old Man Winter were real, I would have some words to share with him. I am quite sure that I wouldn’t ever say a large portion of those words in front of my Mother.

When I think of Old Man Winter, the picture in my mind’s eye is of a wizened, bitter old man who paces back and forth in his Ice Cave of Doom. He rubs his hands together slowly as he concocts the next big storm, and as he looks up you can see the hard, evil glint in his eye. He chortles menacingly. That’s right…there’s menacing chortling going on. How rotten is that? I’m also quite sure that Old Man Winter is a close relative of Murphy. They are quite a diabolical duo.

Could it be that I am personalizing my nemesis a little too much? Yeah…could be. Do I like winter? Only when it placid and gentle and picturesque, like a Currier & Ives picture.

Here I am having my own personal pity-party, complete with blizzard. So, in order to get my attitude out of the snow bank, I’m trying very hard to count my blessings today. The big one, sitting right on top of the pile, is that my parents made it home yesterday afternoon, just in the nick of time. They’d been traveling for three days to get home, and drove in just as the snow started to really blow. They looked so tired, but at least they are home and safe.

Now it’s time to go get out the shovels. Time for the winter cardio!

About Sparrow
I am a 47 years young and the mother of two amazing young men, who've grown up and left me mostly an Empty-Nester. I write about what's going on in my little corner of the High Plains, or what happens to be crawling across my brain on a given day. Thank you so much for stopping by. Make yourself at home...through the magic of the internet, the coffee's always free and the doughnuts are fresh!

8 Responses to A Winter Whiner Who’s Digging for Blessings in the Snow

  1. Texanna says:

    I enjoyed your post.That’s a pretty picture of the snow among the trees. But I hate winter & I hate snow. That’s why I live in Texas! Anything below 70 degrees in Texas is winter. Fall/Spring is 70-90 degrees & summer is 90-105 degrees. That’s the way I like it!
    I lived for a few years in Illinois when I was a child so I understand what winter is all about SO I’ll never leave Texas again. Ha, Ha!

  2. Brea says:

    Glad the folks made it home ok! It was nuts out there this morning, took me 45 minutes to do the 10 minute drive to work.

    Once the sand trucks and plows get busy, things will get better, but until then…ack.

    • sparrow1969 says:

      I hear that, Brea. I just about didn’t make it up 6th street hill on the way to drop Older Son off at the high school today. Glad they finally got the sand trucks out and runnin!

  3. TheIdiotSpeaketh says:

    I will gladly trade ya for a little snow. This is actually one thing I hate about Texas…I actually prefer to be cold and have snow during the period from Oct-Mar. I hate being able to wear shorts on most Christmas days. Glad your folks made it safely! 🙂

  4. I want old man winter here! It was just Santa Ana hot winds (east winds) today…. I love to shovel snow… Want to trade!? The shape I could get into. Shoveling snow and getting a work out at work!

Leave a Reply

