Music Flashback: Van Halen


It never fails to amaze me how much music I enjoyed as a kid has been left behind. I’ve been reminded of so many good bands/songs in the last while, reading my favorite Idiot’s blog, The Idiot Speaketh. He always has some great blast from the past. The latest one, about the band T’Pau, got me to really thinking about it, so I went in search of some old favorites. Where did I go? You guessed it…You Tube.

One band I’ve always loved is Van Halen. I had a terrible crush on David Lee Roth, and lusted furiously after Alex Van Halen’s drum kit…I had a poster of him on my bedroom wall just because I liked his drums (That’s what being a drummer in the high school band will get you – lusting after other people’s drum sets)  The funny thing is, if my parents ever realized what the lyrics to their songs were, they’d have cut me off immediately.

So, when showcasing a band, how do you choose what to talk about? I was just going to post a variety of their music videos, but I found some surprises out on You Tube that I couldn’t pass up sharing, all about one song in particular – Jump. First, let’s have a look at the original video:

Now, here’s a 2007 reunion tour video, after David Lee Roth got back with the band, and Wolfgang Van Halen replaced Michael Anthony. The difference is glaring, and while not bad,  I think I liked the original better.

Now, hang on to your hats…I found this rendition of Jump done in BLUE GRASS. That’s right…complete with banjo and mandolin:

I applaud Diamond Dave’s willingness to try something new, but I have to say I liked him much better with the Hair Band attire, long hair and singing rock. Still the same great voice, but it’s missing something. A lot of something.

So…why haven’t I mentioned anything about Sammy Hagar’s time with the band? Hm…You know, I did like Sammy Hagar’s contribution (85-96),  and I’m not saying you shouldn’t check out their music during that era, but there’s something about the original band that just does it for me.

Here’s some Van Halen trivia questions for you:

1.Who discovered Van Halen?

2. So what’s the deal with the M&M’s?

3. Which of the original band members is an ordained minister?

About Sparrow
I am a 47 years young and the mother of two amazing young men, who've grown up and left me mostly an Empty-Nester. I write about what's going on in my little corner of the High Plains, or what happens to be crawling across my brain on a given day. Thank you so much for stopping by. Make yourself at home...through the magic of the internet, the coffee's always free and the doughnuts are fresh!

7 Responses to Music Flashback: Van Halen

  1. TheIdiotSpeaketh says:

    Love Van Halen! To me, they are like two different bands with the DLR and the Hagar years. Both were good, but I really like the early DLR years best. Favorite songs: “You really got me” and “Aint talking bout Love”. Thanks for the flashback!

  2. Karen says:

    ………and I was in love with George of the Beatles.

  3. Karen says:

    ..am having a problem with them allowing me to post on blog

  4. Huntress says:

    I, too, was a fan of David Lee Roth….is this what age does to one?

    • sparrow1969 says:

      lol.. I guess it must! I saw him in concert by himself once in 1990 or so, and it was great except that he bashed this beautiful 12 string guitar. I’d have taken it home and taken good care of it!

Leave a Reply

