High Strangeness at The Big Box Store


I worked all day at my second job, which will henceforth be known here as Big Box Store.

As Big Box Store is big and full of everything you’d ever need, I expected it to be a hectic place to work. I didn’t expect it to be quite so disorganized, but I’ll get into that in a later post.  What I also didn’t expect was the violent behavior of the customers. I know it takes all kinds to make this world go ’round, but I think some need a shot of Thorazine to help keep the crazy down.

I was working along, organizing and answering questions, when I hear shouting and whapping. Yeah…that’s right…whapping. This father and daughter team were hitting each other with some Nerf swords that had been on display. Our standing operating orders are to do nothing, as long as nobody’s getting hurt. As it happens, this kid took an umbrella after her dad and connected with him. When he took it away from her, she grabbed a bike tire pump and hit him, hard…laughing the whole time. She couldn’t have been any more than 12-14 or so, age-wise. It all happened so fast that there wasn’t much I could do about it, and I was just getting ready to call for Security when they quit and left my department.

It makes me wonder what kind of strange relationship between father and child allows for that kind of behavior, especially in public.  They were gleefully destroying the department until she took after him with the hard stuff, and he still never said much to her in the way of corrective parenting. High strangeness to be sure. The scary thing is that this guy frequents my department. I’m hoping after today he’ll give it a rest for a while.

On the upside, I’m getting a fabulous workout! Working at Big Box Store has given me access to lots of walking, and very much lifting and bending. My butt feels like I’ve been running a marathon. I wish it had shrunk accordingly, but it’s only been two weeks, so I guess I should be patient. This curvaceous body wasn’t built in a day, and whittling it down to a less curvaceous form won’t take any less time.

And now, supper is almost ready. I have a movie from Netflix ready to watch called Ondine, and I’ll be sure to post a review all about it. Night all!

About Sparrow
I am a 47 years young and the mother of two amazing young men, who've grown up and left me mostly an Empty-Nester. I write about what's going on in my little corner of the High Plains, or what happens to be crawling across my brain on a given day. Thank you so much for stopping by. Make yourself at home...through the magic of the internet, the coffee's always free and the doughnuts are fresh!

5 Responses to High Strangeness at The Big Box Store

  1. Karen says:

    …remember this: if they are alright doing that in public, what must it be like behind closed doors?

  2. Brea says:

    BBS seems to be a study in strangeness. I’ve been noticing lately how much it resembles the bottom of a petri dish.

    ack.

  3. I am with you on how people allow their kids to behave in public. I just give mine the “look” and they straighten up quick. I also love your optomisim about turning job # 2 into a gym membership! 🙂

Leave a Reply

