Spitting is NOT manly…ladies, can I hear an “Amen”?!


Tonight I attended Younger Son’s last football game of the season. It was a nice evening, if a little windy, and the boys won the game. Huzzah!

What is the deal with men and spitting?  Sometimes you’ll hear them hawking a loogie from what seems like the roots of their toes, only to spit it forcefully out on the ground in front of whoever is standing in the local area. Other times they just seem to spit, for spitting’s sake. A lot. Especially at sporting events. What really burns my cookies is that the coaches do it too.

I find the male assumption that spitting is an acceptable way to act in public grievously in error. I have news for you men. Spitting isn’t manly. It is not attractive, nor is it necessary unless you end up with a bug or something else in your mouth that just shouldn’t be there.

There are three rules I insist my sons adhere to when it comes to spitting:

1. Do Not Spit In Public, EVER.

2. If you have a something in your mouth that isn’t supposed to be there, do get rid of it in as polite a manner as you can.

3. I don’t care if the other guys do it. Please refer to Rule #1. Do it now.

I know lots of women who tolerate habitual spitting from their male family members. Younger Son, who just came by and read the title of this blog post, insists that he knows lots of girls that spit. Only, he says, they have a harder time doing it because guys slobber more than girls do. (Yeah…I’m shaking my head at that too, and am trying very hard not to think about that statement too much in-depth right now.) Girls, am I alone in this?  Am I overly sensitive because I was raised in a family where spitting was not tolerated, or heads got smacked? Are my expectations too high for male behavior?

…Or…

Are there more out there like me who would like the guys to stick a cork in it? I would bet hard cold cash that I’m not the only one who feels like I should put on a haz-mat suit just to go to my kid’s sporting events? How many of you out there find men more attractive when they aren’t letting fly every 10 minutes for no particular reason? I’m betting I’m not alone.

For all you guys…please, just for a moment imagine what you might think if we girls spit all the time.   If you find the notion of your mothers, aunts and grandmas spitting every time you see them repulsive, then you can understand how we girls might find that not so attractive. Now I want you to imagine all the females in your vicinity spitting  all together and joking amongst themselves about girls stuff that you guys don’t want to know about. Yummy? It gets even better… just imagine your girlfriend  has a wad of chewing tobacco stuffed in her lip, and is busily spitting/drooling tobacco juice to beat the band. I bet you’d love to walk right up to her and give those lips a big old kiss, right? Does that make you feel really hot and bothered? If so, then you’re a really sick puppy and you need to see Sparrow’s Rules for Spitting in Public, as listed above.

Sorry about the sarcastic rant…I think watching Younger Son’s coach spit all evening, providing such a manly role model, got the better of my attitude. So, guys, please keep it dry and clean. If someone needs to water the grass you’re standing on, they’ll get out the hose.

About Sparrow
I am a 47 years young and the mother of two amazing young men, who've grown up and left me mostly an Empty-Nester. I write about what's going on in my little corner of the High Plains, or what happens to be crawling across my brain on a given day. Thank you so much for stopping by. Make yourself at home...through the magic of the internet, the coffee's always free and the doughnuts are fresh!

12 Responses to Spitting is NOT manly…ladies, can I hear an “Amen”?!

  1. No arguments here. I don’t spit and I never condoned my kids spitting. Disgusting habit. U better not come to Texas, trust me, these guys spit! alot!

    • sparrow1969 says:

      lol…I think the only thing Texas has over North Dakota in the spitting department is that there is just a bigger population. I swear, you can’t go anywhere without saliva flying out of someone’s face. Ugh…

  2. Brea says:

    A-FRICKIN-MEN! I can’t stand this habit that they have of the hawking and the spitting, often not looking before they turn their head to do so. What happened to the habit of having a hanky in the back pocket? Or waiting till you get to a PRIVATE place to do this? It’s rather a lot like picking your nose in public, or another favorite, “readjusting” oneself while walking in a store. *shudder*

    When did the more disgusting bodily habits become acceptable? Why? ugh…

  3. TheIdiotSpeaketh says:

    Always a good practice to readjust right after you get out of the car, but well before you get to the doorway of the store. Just sayin…

    • sparrow1969 says:

      Ah, readjustment. That’s a topic all by itself. I don’t have a beef with a very discrete, brief readjusting…I mean, tender flesh gets pinched, I get that. However, some guys have a thing for publicly groping themselves. I’ve seen women do it to.

  4. Texanna says:

    I understand how you feel about spitting. It is rude, a nasty habit & shows bad manners.
    It would change my relationship with friends…..its a deal breaker! But I’ve always been lucky that I’ve never actually met anyone who spits but I hate to see others do it.

  5. AMEN!!!!!!!!! I also hate the “chew” spit… That just puts shivers down my spine….I had a rule, I never would date a guy that chewed. I felt if I wanted to do that, I would just eleminate the middle man and make out with the can they spit into… YUCK!

    • sparrow1969 says:

      Once, when I was in high school, I went out with some friends and ended up getting kissed by a guy who I thought was a really neat, and ruggedly handsome. Yeah, it was all good until I realized that I had crumbly stuff floating around my mouth from where the guy had been chewing tobacco earlier and hadn’t bothered to rinse his mouth out before he kissed me…AAAAAAHHHH!

  6. I’m definitely with you – except for the rare points in time when you truly don’t care if you’re being gross or not, like in the middle of some really serious manual labor or right after running a few miles or something. Those things now that I think about it, are SO manly that you can get away with lots of crap that’s gross – anything north of soiling yourself really.

    I grew up in the sticks, so I really grew accustomed to guys standing around spitting brown liquid into cups, right there in front of their girlfriends and wives. I always thought it was pretty gross.

    It’s kind of like how people just throw their cigarettes out the window. I had a relative who used to hawk, roll down his window, and then spit out into the wind, a big glop of it. You’d literally keep the windows rolled up in the back seat because of previous incidents. I have no idea why this weird, gross behavior is allowed.

    I mean, I know why it’s legal, it’s just that lots of gross stuff is legal and has been stamped out socially. Like farting – very few people let fly with a fart in public, even though they could and there are lots of times when it would be pretty funny.

Leave a Reply

