It’s the mystery that’s the interesting part…enjoy the journey.


I love to watch movies in the theater. There’s something about being totally immersed in a story played on the big screen that is like

nothing else.  I generally don’t waste my money on movies that are just as good on the small screen, but I really love the ones with lots of effects, stunts and explosions.  I love a really good escapism…anything that will let me forget about everyday stuff for a couple of hours.

I especially like to watch sci-fi movies in the theater, which is why I was so intrigued by a trailer I found on-line for a movie being released in November, called Skyline. The first trailer sets the stage for what looks like an alien invasion of some kind. It looks ominous, and interesting. I was instantly hooked and couldn’t wait to see it. It was mysterious because there had been very little information published about it, and there was only the one trailer available on the web with only two months before the movie was to be released.

What the heck? Usually when block-busting alien movies are getting ready to open at the box office, there’s no getting away from the advertising. Very unusual. Hmm…

So, why was I so put out when a 2nd trailer finally showed up? I was initially kind of excited…here’s more info about this cool movie that I know that I want to see! I went right out to watch it, and was instantly disappointed.  I’ll post the two trailers below:

This is the first:

Here is the 2nd:

Looks like a big budget alien thriller, but in actuality it’s a low-budget film that is mostly all CGI. Pretty clever stuff, really, and I am still going to go watch the movie. I think that the reason I was so disappointed with the 2nd trailer is for two reasons:

1. This is starting to look like just another big monster movie. It’s not a bad thing, but I am really hoping it turns out to be something more original. And,

2. The mystery of the whole thing  just evaporated.

Live in the moment...don't worry about what's at the end of the trail

It’s true what they say…it’s the getting, not the having. Once you get to the point of having something or some knowledge that you have been looking for, the mystery is gone and then it’s not so interesting anymore. Yeah, I know we’re just talking movies here, but the same applies to everything else in life. It’s a good reminder to me to enjoy the journey and not just focus on what’s at the end of it.

 

About Sparrow
I am a 47 years young and the mother of two amazing young men, who've grown up and left me mostly an Empty-Nester. I write about what's going on in my little corner of the High Plains, or what happens to be crawling across my brain on a given day. Thank you so much for stopping by. Make yourself at home...through the magic of the internet, the coffee's always free and the doughnuts are fresh!

9 Responses to It’s the mystery that’s the interesting part…enjoy the journey.

  1. TheIdiotSpeaketh says:

    The first trailer was good. I just saw the first ever commercial for that movie just this afternoon. I too love going to movies in a theater but they have lost much of the joy that I remember from my younger days. Even though we didn’t have stadium seating, digital pictures and sound, 30 screen theaters, and all of the modern stuff…I remember going to the movies when concessions and tickets were still cheap, people were not rude and did not talk in the movies, and when you could do cool things like watch the same movie 4 times in a row in one day, like me and my geek buddies did when The Empire Strikes Back first came out. That is still my all-time favortie Sci-fi flick! (followed by Star Trek 2: The wrath of Khan)

    • sparrow1969 says:

      Oh, be still my beating heart!

      The Empire Strikes Back is probably the finest sci-fi movie, EVER! The first three Star Wars movies were way better than the last three, but now they are bringing them all out in 3-D!? Pure, unbelievable sacrilege. I remember watching the first movie when I was 8 years old. We didn’t go to the movies very often, and we drove a hour and a half away just to have that day out for lunch and a movie. I was riveted as soon as the opening words rolled up the screen, right through until the end. They don’t make them like that anymore, that’s for sure.

      Wrath of Khan was great too… William Shatner was the best. Sad that he’s not involved anymore.

      • TheIdiotSpeaketh says:

        I came back from living in Germany when I was 12. A relative said “you have to go see this new movie…it so cool…it is called Star Wars”. I had never heard of it and had never heard of anyone in it. Went to see it, much against my will. And then, before you know it, everything in my bedroom is Star Wars related! When Empire came out, I think I ended up seeing it around a dozen times total while it was in theaters. I agree with you, the first 3 are classics, I really did not care much for the newer ones and really didnt like the “remastered” old ones that had new scenes or new effects. I loved the old ones just the way they are. For pure Sci-fi entertainment, Empire is the best! I would love to see it again, in a theater, just like the good old days. I have the DVD’s, but it just isnt the same experience is it? See ya Sparrow!

  2. Great post and your point applies to all but things stupidly strenous, like running marathons, climbing 14,000 foot mountains. That is when it is all about the destination and hamburger, fries and coke at the end of that journey for me 🙂

  3. Raevenheart Moonshadow says:

    heya sparrow, would you like a movie buddy when u go?!!?I think it would be awesome to go wit ya!

    • sparrow1969 says:

      I would love that! However, at this rate, I’ll be lucky to see it in the theater. With this 2nd job kicking my butt, I seem to be using all available time sleeping! If I do get time to go, I’ll shoot you an email ahead of time!

  4. Brea says:

    Hey! You know, about the only times I get to actually sit in the theater is either when Harry Potter comes out (next month – ready?) or if there’s something that OtherHalf and I actually agree on.

    Otherwise, we’d both rather wait for it to come out on Blu-ray, and watch it, uninterrupted, in our jammies, in our living room. Course, we don’t get the big screen, but we do get the luxury of being able to PAUSE for potty and snack breaks.

    So, when the Deathly Hallows comes, will you save me a seat? It’s a blast watching those movies with you and the girls! Just ticks me off that they split it in HALF.

Leave a Reply

