Football and bellydancing


I went to Younger Son’s football game Thursday night, and it was a beautiful night for it. We are in the middle of a blessed Indian Summer and the weather has been heavenly. But Thursday night, it was amazing. There’s something about the air in the Autumn that is just intoxicating, and it’s so sweet you can almost taste it. It reminds me of sweet water I drank from a natural spring once… it was so fresh and so good, I just couldn’t get enough. At the game, it’s a wonder nobody reported me for odd behavior, as I was doing a LOT of deep breathing. These kind of days are so rare and I was so grateful to have the excuse to spend a few hours outside.

One thing I’m not grateful for is angry football parents. You know the ones…they shout at their children from the sidelines, as though they know better than the coaches. Not only that, but they aren’t afraid to tear their kid down in public. It’s amazing to me the foul, caustic things that come out of some of these parent’s mouths. It’s just unreal and, that evening, I think I hit a wall with it.

Most of us parents who go to the football games walk up and down the field, following the players. This one guy walked up and down, and did a lot of muttering. I didn’t notice him shouting so much, but he talked to himself an awful lot. He was kind of weird, so I did my best not to make eye contact with him and just kept my distance. At one point he walked behind me and did say something to his kid from the sidelines that I couldn’t ignore:

“You ought to have broken that faggot in two!”

Yeah, that’s right…that’s exactly what he said. The kicker is that I heard this through the headphones I was wearing, as I had been listening to some podcasts I wanted to catch up on, so you know it was loud.  It shocked me so badly, I turned around, looked him in the eye and asked, “Did you really just say that out loud?”, to which he replied, “Yes… I did” and walked off. The good news is that  the guy went to one corner of the field and stayed there after that. Perhaps just confronting him once will be good enough to carry him for the rest of the season? One can only hope.

Anyway, despite that bit of nastiness, it was still a lovely evening to hang out and watch my kid play. I sure wish I could find a way to bottle that good clean Autumn air!

By this time, you must be asking yourself, what the heck has that got to do with belly dancing? Nothing, really. I just found this really cool video over at Wandering Soul and had to share it with you, my faithful 10 readers! I didn’t realize it until I saw this, but apparently belly dancing has really taken off in the US, and there is even a festival in Sebastopol, CA which showcases it called Tribal Fest.  I also didn’t realize that belly dance could be so fabulous when done in slow motion. We’ve all seen whirling belly dancers on TV, but this takes it to a new level of art. I really, really want to be a belly dancer, just like this lady (Rachel Brice), in my next life…this stuff rocks. Enjoy!

About Sparrow
I am a 47 years young and the mother of two amazing young men, who've grown up and left me mostly an Empty-Nester. I write about what's going on in my little corner of the High Plains, or what happens to be crawling across my brain on a given day. Thank you so much for stopping by. Make yourself at home...through the magic of the internet, the coffee's always free and the doughnuts are fresh!

6 Responses to Football and bellydancing

  1. Hel'wyse says:

    where did you find that olde video of me?

    belly dancing is the best way to tone everything and help your back Sparrow. I need to get back to it, altho I have just a little more flesh to shake!

    • sparrow1969 says:

      LOL…I was thinking about you when I posted that video. I have thought about getting one of those videos for a long time, and I like this new fusion stuff better that the traditional. We’ll see!

  2. redriverpak says:

    High School Football and Belly Dancing…in the same post! Talk about one-stop shopping! 🙂

  3. TheIdiotSpeaketh says:

    Hey Sparrow Lady who’s real name I still do not know…. I am spotlighting your blog today. Have a great day! 🙂

Leave a Reply

