I’m doubly gainfully employed!


So yesterday the final appointment was made. They called me to come in for orientation. I’ll be working my first day at my new 2nd job on Saturday. That’s right…I’m now doubly employed, and it’s about time.

I’ve been meaning to get another job for quite a while, and just never mustered the guts to get up and do it. Why? I suppose I was afraid that I wouldn’t be viewed as employable, which is dumb. I’m a pretty plain-Jane, vanilla, stable kind of girl…just right for a big box store that’s desperately hiring people as fast as possible.  I suppose it’s just a matter of facing change. This is something I’ve never done before, and it will surely be an adventure.

So where will I be working? I’ll not actually say the name, but it’s a giant store chain that is well-known all over the country, and after a while it won’t take you long to figure out what it is. They hired me to work in the toy department, which will be just perfect. I’m told that it’s a lot of picking up after little kids. Wow…nobody’s paid me to pick up after little kids before!  I’m hoping to get in about 20 hours a week, which will be just right. The money will go toward buying a car for my kids to use, and for fixing up the house some more so I can get it refinanced. I’m hoping that by spring I’ll have all the little stuff taken care of.

Well, that’s all the news that’s fit to print here today. Gotta get the kids prodded along in their morning routines so we can get the heck out of the house and on with our day. More soon!

About Sparrow
I am a 47 years young and the mother of two amazing young men, who've grown up and left me mostly an Empty-Nester. I write about what's going on in my little corner of the High Plains, or what happens to be crawling across my brain on a given day. Thank you so much for stopping by. Make yourself at home...through the magic of the internet, the coffee's always free and the doughnuts are fresh!

9 Responses to I’m doubly gainfully employed!

  1. redriverpak says:

    Congratulations!! This BIG BOX STORE doesn’t start with a “W” does it? If yes, let me know and we will send a rescue squad and some de-programmers up there to help ya! 🙂 Have a great day Sparrow!

  2. John says:

    I’ll have to keep my eye out for you there as bring the kids to shop for toys. I’ll be sure to have them pick up their mess when they are done those days.

  3. redriverpak says:

    If they make you put on a blue vest….RUN!!!…..Run as fast as you can!! 🙂

  4. Congrats my fellow Blogspot from the Idiot! I have to say he never misses the mark on good stuff. I have to say I have a kinship to you, my grandmother was from North Dakota and loved it and missed it. She was insane till the day she died… so that explains that. The closest I ever got to ND was MN and that was cold enough!
    I love this post! You are the picture of a sacrificing mother and I think I could learn a lot from you! Great to meet you!

Leave a Reply

