Confessions of a linens junkie


That’s right. I said it…I’m a linens junkie.

Over the years, I’ve developed a penchant for collecting sheet sets for the beds. Now that I’ve downsized to a smaller bed, I get to start aaaalll over again!! Hmm…I can’t wait for the White Sale at JC Penny’s this Spring!

As my ten faithful readers may remember, I sold the queen sized bed I previously shared with my ex-husband, and bought a brand new bed for myself. It’s been nice having a smaller bed. Not only do I have more space in my bedroom now, but I love the microfiber linens I bought for it. The afternoon that the bed arrived, I went out to Penny’s and stumbled into the most magnificent sale on bedding. Not only did I get two sets of microfiber sheets for the price of one, but I got a really great quilt. It wasn’t my first choice, but it was a close 2nd, and they had it in the size I needed. Oddly enough, the pattern is called “Wedding Ring”, but it was pretty enough that I didn’t mind. Next year when we get our tax refund, I’m looking forward to buying another quilt so I can change them out seasonally.

My lovely quilt.

I have just a few words to say about microfiber sheets. They feel so nice. The only problem I have with them is that they don’t stay on the bed very well. They are kind of slippery, and I am a rowdy sleeper, so very often I have to put my sheets back on in the morning.  If I had to do it all over again, I’d still buy them, though. Yeah, they feel that good.

I’m thinking about getting a set of flannel sheets for the winter. I had a set once, and they were nice and warm. The only problem I had with them is that they were fire-engine red and had large white snowflakes on them. They were on sale, and I figured I wouldn’t really be looking at them in the dark while I was sleeping, so it shouldn’t have been a big deal…right? Wrong. I’m apparently a linens snob, because I just couldn’t deal with the garishness of them.

I just did laundry and put fresh sheets on my bed, and they smell so good! I put a lot of fabric softener in when I wash sheets. I mean, A LOT.  Hmmmm…I’m going to sleep good tonight! Speaking of putting sheets on a bed, what is the deal with the bed feeling nicer to get into when the bed is made? I hate making my bed, and most days don’t bother much with it. I think I might have to try to get into the habit of it, because I’ve noticed that it is just nicer to slide into sheets that have been pressed flat all day.

Here’s wishing you all, a very good night’s sleep!

About Sparrow
I am a 47 years young and the mother of two amazing young men, who've grown up and left me mostly an Empty-Nester. I write about what's going on in my little corner of the High Plains, or what happens to be crawling across my brain on a given day. Thank you so much for stopping by. Make yourself at home...through the magic of the internet, the coffee's always free and the doughnuts are fresh!

Leave a Reply

