Lost in the Static: Media and Geek Culture


I was going through my email address one day to see if there were any that needed deleting, and I found one that I hadn’t used in a while. Instead of deleting it, I chose to send a note to see if there was still anyone on the other end and, wouldn’t you know it…I got an answer! Scotty ran a podcast (Satyrcast…look it up on podcast alley) I used to listen to, and participate in via phone, some years ago. It was a fun show put on by good people but, as life goes, all good things must come to an end. When the show closed down I was a little sad, and always wondered what happened to the Satyrcast crew, so I was thrilled to hear that Scotty is doing well and has another brand new internet show up and running.

The new show is called Lost in the Static, and the first episode deals with critiques of directors and movies, good and bad,  movie remakes, and movies that are just plain rip offs. I just got done listening to the first episode, and I loved it. Yeah, I’m a little biased for being a fan of Scotty’s previous work (you should hear his music mash-ups…they’re brilliant), but I have to say that this new show has a lot of potential. What I liked best is that Scotty and his co-host Josh don’t agree on many points. In fact, they will give you their email and a call in number so you can let them know your opinion too. I have to say that, between the two of them there is a lot of movie knowledge, and they talked about movies I’d never heard of that I’m now going to have to go out and find. The knowledge doesn’t stop at movies, either. After listening to Scotty for a few years, I can tell you he has a lot of interesting knowledge, and I’ll be very interested to see where these guys take us as listeners.

Not only are these guys smart, but they’re fun…give them a listen. This isn’t a traditional podcast as you might find on Itunes or podcast alley (yet?), but this an internet radio show. It airs on Jackalope 105 at 7pm Central on Saturdays. Be aware this is an adult show, so probably not something you want to play out loud for the little ones. If you miss the live show, never fear… The shows are archived, and the first episode is up and ready to listen to.  You can find it if you click on the link I provided above and scroll all the way down.

I hope you enjoy the show… I’m looking forward to seeing how this develops over time. So, here’s a big shout out to Scotty and Josh…Good luck with your new venture!

About Sparrow
I am a 47 years young and the mother of two amazing young men, who've grown up and left me mostly an Empty-Nester. I write about what's going on in my little corner of the High Plains, or what happens to be crawling across my brain on a given day. Thank you so much for stopping by. Make yourself at home...through the magic of the internet, the coffee's always free and the doughnuts are fresh!

Leave a Reply

