Coffee, how I do love thee…


I never used to like coffee. When I was little my mom used to fix me a cup of tea with lots of milk and sugar in it. Once, I came upon a cup full of what I thought was my tea, but it was

Good morning!

someone else’s coffee with a lot of cream and sugar in it, and it was awful. I never touched the stuff again from that moment, until my middle-late twenties.  My (then) husband, myself and our two babies traveled to Michigan to visit his family, and his younger brother introduced me to the joys of flavored coffee. Since then, I’ve been irretrievably hooked. It’s all Jeff’s fault…yeah, that’s what I keep telling myself.

Anyway, fast forward to now. I love to buy my favorite fluffy coffees at Starbucks. We have local coffee shops who also sell delightful coffee concoctions. My kids have recently developed a taste for it as well. Often on Sunday mornings,  one of the boys will go with me to Starbucks and we get us all coffees, pastries and a newspaper. What a fabulous way to start a nice Sunday morning!

Fluffy coffees are expensive, though, and it’s not something we can have all the time. Since buying coffee every day is just too cost-prohibitive, we have a coffee pot. Mom had an extra one, and sent it home with me one day when I mentioned the kids liked coffee. So, it’s been interesting buying different flavors and doctoring our coffee up with flavored creamers and sugar.

Drinking coffee isn’t just about the taste, or the caffeine. There’s something about the smell that calms me down during a hectic morning. It’s also a great smell to wake up to. I love the smell of coffee right away when I get up. It’s almost aromatherapy! In the Winter, drinking coffee can be all about getting warmed up again after being outside. Sometimes drinking coffee at work is a means of grounding and centering myself if I’m having a rotten day. Most days, I only drink one cup of coffee, and am lucky to finish it.  I know it’s a bad day at work when I’m hitting my second cup of coffee before noon. Gods help the person who messes with my coffee. Reach for my coffee cup, and you may only get back a bloody stump where your conniving, thieving hand used to be, especially if it’s early in the morning.

I have a cup of coffee sitting next to me right now. I’m just waiting for it to cool before I start sipping, so I’ll just inhale the lovely aroma and get a good start on my day. (Sniiiiiff….ahhhh!)

About Sparrow
I am a 47 years young and the mother of two amazing young men, who've grown up and left me mostly an Empty-Nester. I write about what's going on in my little corner of the High Plains, or what happens to be crawling across my brain on a given day. Thank you so much for stopping by. Make yourself at home...through the magic of the internet, the coffee's always free and the doughnuts are fresh!

9 Responses to Coffee, how I do love thee…

  1. SandySays1 says:

    My human and you have a lot in common. He claims that when he dies and his autopsy is preformed the ME will find two coffee beans where his kidneys should be. Keep on sippin’
    Sandy
    http://www.sandysays1.wordpress.com

  2. redriverpak says:

    I would hope you drink a lot of coffee! Living up in the Arctic and all…..you probably drink it like we drink Lemonade down here in the cool tropics! 🙂

  3. I want so badly to like coffee. I love the smell…I actually breath deeply when walking down the aisle at the grocery store. I can drink it every now and then, but it hurts my stomach so badly that I have to eat all day to make that feeling go away! I envy people who get to wake up to their coffee and calmly read the newspaper with a hot cup o’ joe in their hand. I get to drink milk. Damn you acid reflux!!!

    • sparrow1969 says:

      OH, I know what you mean about inhaling deeply when walking by down the coffee isle in the grocery store…good stuff! I’m sorry to hear you can’t drink it, but maybe you could use it as real aroma therapy? The cupboard I keep my coffee grounds in smells HEAVENLY! If I’m feeling stressed, all I have to do is open the door and sniff!

Leave a Reply

