I Win!


When I was a kid, my mom made me take piano lessons. At first I really hated them, and I did everything in my power to get out of the lessons, and ended up only having to take them for a year. Then, I was blissfully free.

Strange thing I discovered is that I actually really liked playing the piano, and so I continued on by myself, picking it up as I went along. One of the first whole songs I ever learned by

Titanium - No good for containment of vocal weaponry

my self was “You Light Up My Life” by Debbie Boone. Most people would hear that and cringe…maybe even cry out in anguish for having to listen to it. Not me. I like it. I can sing along word for word, and revel in every note. The only problem with that is that I couldn’t carry a tune in a titanium bucket. In fact, my singing could be downright deadly.  I have been contacted by R&D labs in their search for creation of new and improved non-lethal weaponry. Unfortunately the liaison assigned to my case developed an unfortunate drooling catatonia in response to having to hear my singing once too often. Until someone in R&D can come up with an appropriate protection against my rather unique skills, I’ll need to keep my day job.

That particular little factoid about me has remained unknown until this very minute. I had just stopped over to visit The Idiot Speaketh, and listened to his most recent salvo in this bitter struggle of musical good and evil…and I found heaven in the guise of Debbie Boone singing “You Light Up My Life”. What joy!

I see he’s also posted a video I was very fond of as a child of the 80’s…Toni Basil singing “Hey Mickey!” What a blast from the past! I love that tune. I used to know all the words, and I bet when I press the play button, it will be like I never forgot. I will say that I never cared much for the whole cheerleader theme, but I loved the song. Thank you to my blog buddy over at The Idiot Speaketh for bringing back such fond memories!

Here’s a selection that I am very fond of, and I hope you are too. There is something about bagpipes that grips me by my sternum and makes me feel all warm and fuzzy. I’m thinking maybe I was born in the Highlands of Scotland in another life. The song, Scotland the Brave, posted below was shared on You Tube by Waldemaroz, and it is a fine example of what I love about bagpipes.

  What I love even more about bagpipes is that they are usually played by cute, burly guys in kilts. Hmm…there’s a post for another day!

About Sparrow
I am a 47 years young and the mother of two amazing young men, who've grown up and left me mostly an Empty-Nester. I write about what's going on in my little corner of the High Plains, or what happens to be crawling across my brain on a given day. Thank you so much for stopping by. Make yourself at home...through the magic of the internet, the coffee's always free and the doughnuts are fresh!

4 Responses to I Win!

  1. redriverpak says:

    zzzzzzzz…..zzzzzzzzz……zzzzzzzzz……Oh sorry…..those soothing tones helped me have a very refreshing nap! Thank you so much! I just love bag pipes! Now, if you will excuse me, I am going to play your video again and catch another quick nap….after I lob another bomb your way!

  2. sparrow1969 says:

    Bring it!

    Seriously, though, I’m glad you like the bagpipes. Did you know that they are still on the books as weapon of war? Sad, but true. How could anyone run away from something that sounds so heavenly?

  3. redriverpak says:

    I don’t think there’s any way we will beat the David Hasselhoff “Hooked on a Feeling” video…..it will be damn hard to beat that one…. 🙂

  4. sparrow1969 says:

    I think you’re right…I rolled over and gave up as soon as I heard that one.

Leave a Reply

