Book Review & and an upcoming show at HBO


For any of you who are avid readers of fantasy, I have a book for you to dive into. Or rather, a series of books.

George R. R. Martin has written many stories, but this series is my favorite. A Game of Thrones is the first in the Song of Ice and Fire series. It is epic, in the best way possible. The story encompasses several families in a medieval time, in a completely different universe, across a long stretch of time. It goes through all the trials and issues inherent in such a time, complete with knights, political intrigue and just enough magic to make it interesting, but not so much that it steals the show. The real show is the relationships and histories between all of the characters.

What I loved about this series is that there is never a dull moment, and it doesn’t closely follow a formula, as some book series do. Lots of cliff hangers, and surprises.  Certainly there are slower times in the books, but they are always relevant and always informational. Sometimes there’s so much information, I had to go back and reread a chapter just to make sure I got everything straight. It’s been many years since I read these books, and I think I’ll read them again before the new show comes out next year. Be aware that these books are for serious fantasy readers that don’t mind reading a book that’s large enough to truly use as a door stop.

HBO is making a show out of this book series. I’m so excited, I’m wiggling like a happy puppy! I checked You Tube, and there are already many fan-made videos out there, but only a few official trailers from HBO, and one that lists the official cast thus far. I’ll be keeping an eye out for the latest information. For those of you who’d like to check the progress directly from the HBO site, click HERE.

Enjoy!

About Sparrow
I am a 47 years young and the mother of two amazing young men, who've grown up and left me mostly an Empty-Nester. I write about what's going on in my little corner of the High Plains, or what happens to be crawling across my brain on a given day. Thank you so much for stopping by. Make yourself at home...through the magic of the internet, the coffee's always free and the doughnuts are fresh!

Leave a Reply

