Old Boyfriends…Happy Birthday to mine.


So, I have this weird skill. I don’t even know if I would call it a skill…it’s probably some sort of system glitch. For some reason, I can remember people’s birthdays who I’ve not seen in years, or who I could care less about. I remember people’s birthdays, even when I don’t want to. I remember phone numbers that way too. I’ve got numbers stored in my head from better than twenty years ago, and I just can’t not remember them. It’s kind of bizarre, and not a terribly helpful thing at all. What follows is an example of why it’s not helpful.

Today is the 41st birthday of an old boyfriend of mine…I mean, old like as in Kindergarten old.  So, I’ve not seen this person since I was home from college one summer. We went our

I hate The Barney Song. Now that I've talked about him, I bet I'll have that song in my head. Pic courtesy of Starpulse.com

separate ways romantically when I was about 16 and neither one of us ever looked back, that way. I am sure he is happily married with children. Good for him…I hope he has a nice family and a good long, healthy life. More power to him. Just for the record, it’s also the birthday of  the brother of one of my high school classmates, who I never spoke more than two words to in my life. It’s also the birthday of one of his old girlfriends, who married another one of my classmates. Today is also the wedding anniversary of my uncle and his first wife, who’s now deceased. If I allowed myself to, I am sure I could dredge up several more people associated with today. See…I told you it was bizarre.

When I remember someone’s birthday/anniversary/whatever it might be (it’s not just old boyfriends, or just birthdays),  it’s like I fall into a nasty feedback loop. The remembering of the event on that given date generally hits me when I hear or see the date, and then I begin to wonder what ever happened to them, and then it’s rolling around in my head like The Barney Song…once it’s in there, I just can’t get rid of it. Uff-da.

I know this all sounds really strange, but it’s the true way my twisted brain works. I’m hoping that just the act of writing this all out will kick it out of my head so I can ruminate on something else.

So, in the spirit of un-hijacking my brain, I’d like to wish Mike a very happy birthday. I hope it was a good one, and may you have many more.

About Sparrow
I am a 47 years young and the mother of two amazing young men, who've grown up and left me mostly an Empty-Nester. I write about what's going on in my little corner of the High Plains, or what happens to be crawling across my brain on a given day. Thank you so much for stopping by. Make yourself at home...through the magic of the internet, the coffee's always free and the doughnuts are fresh!

5 Responses to Old Boyfriends…Happy Birthday to mine.

  1. redriverpak says:

    Thanks! Now that damn Barney song will be stuck in my head for weeks!

    I love you
    you love me

    Aaaaarrrgggg!!!!

  2. redriverpak says:

    Next day……Damn Barney song…..STILL IN THERE!!! I’ll remember this!!!

  3. redriverpak says:

    Just a short note to let you know that I had to increase the doseage on my meds……Ol Barney is still running free and loose in my head….. 🙂

Leave a Reply

