The joys of central air, and the lows of moldy carpet.


I was able to get someone in to fix my broken central air today. It’s been a rough couple of days with no air conditioning, and high temperatures and humidity. I think I could

Courtesy of mofoyo.com

handle the heat, but the humidity is what kills me.  Years ago, Ex-husband, in his infinite wisdom (and after I told him not to FOR THIS VERY REASON), insisted on painting the windows shut. Did I mention I was getting new windows soon? Anyway, I digress…I arrived home just after the fix-it guy left, but it’s working again, and the cold air is coming out with more force than it did before and my house is cooling off nicely.

Coping with a hot house is something I hate doing, but remember well from when I was a kid…we just laid there and sweated at night. Poor Younger Son slept with a small fan in his bed blowing right on him, as we couldn’t get our windows open. Older Son got off a little easier since his room is in the cool basement. I took a cold shower and didn’t dry off all the way. I just laid in bed with my long, wet hair dripping all over me and the sheets. It sounds messy, but it sure did the trick. I was actually able to get a decent nights sleep. (Note to self, put ceiling fans in the bedrooms)

So, the bad news is that there was some kind of a leak in the condensation tube and water has been seeping underneath a wall into Older Son’s room, as I described in my last post. Not only is his carpet moldy and ruined underneath, but the very bottom of that wall is moldy and eaten away. It’s one of those slow-growing hidden problems that you just don’t know about until something out of the ordinary happens, like the carpet being wet. There was no smell before, but now that I have pulled up the carpet there’s a pervasive stink in the house I can smell all the way up stairs, even after we dried everything out. So, the carpet is coming out and the wall board is being replaced. It’s a darned good thing that I sealed the cement in that bedroom before we laid the carpet down, or I might never get the stink out. Blech…Thank goodness for bleach!

Still, with all of the commotion this has caused, I can still find a blessing. Today’s blessing? It’s not snowing!

About Sparrow
I am a 47 years young and the mother of two amazing young men, who've grown up and left me mostly an Empty-Nester. I write about what's going on in my little corner of the High Plains, or what happens to be crawling across my brain on a given day. Thank you so much for stopping by. Make yourself at home...through the magic of the internet, the coffee's always free and the doughnuts are fresh!

4 Responses to The joys of central air, and the lows of moldy carpet.

  1. Hel'wyse says:

    HE PAINTED THE WINDOWS SHUT? he was 3 cans short of a 6 pack m’deare.

  2. Brea says:

    LOL, yeah, nobody told me that the silver lining about becoming an adult was that the SILVER LINING would get tangled in my frickin’ HAIR!

    Hey, would a vinegar/water mix work on that mildewy/moldy smell?

    Been there with the painted-shut windows. We have a few in our house that were painted shut before we moved in, and we have to replace them soon. Ugh, not lookin’ forward to THAT project.

    Happy Wednesday, where’s my chainsaw?

    • sparrow1969 says:

      Chainsaw? I’ll lend you mine! lol…

      This qualifies as one of those days where it’s almost not worth chewing my way out of the straight jacket! The good news is that the carpet is out on the curb waiting to be picked up, and I’m getting ready to bleach the living daylights out of the floor. I never knew that I would look so forward to the smell of bleach and think it heavenly!

Leave a Reply

