What a great weekend!


One of my oldest friends came to stay with me this weekend, as you’ve been hearing me blather on about for almost a month now. It was so great to spend time with her. We stayed up too late talking both nights, drank margaritas, went to the Sugarland Concert, stopped at a friend’s bar and chatted with her for a couple of hours. They boys even had a good time with her.

After all the activity, my throat is hoarse from all the talking, I’m a tad dehydrated, and I feel like I got rolled under a semi for having slept on the couch for two nights. Truly, though, I don’t mind. In fact, I would do it again in a heart beat. What a joy to be able to just sit and chat about everything with a friend…especially this friend. I sure have missed her.

Something I’d like to say about Sugarland here…they put on one heck of a good show. They have a new CD coming out called “The Incredible Machine”, which they played some songs from, and they were fantastic. They also played combinations of songs from different decades, which that just blew me away. The style of the stage props, interestingly enough, was very Steam Punk, which was so very odd to see at a concert for a country music band. In fact, I’m not sure how it is they can be called a country band because very little of what they sang was recognizable to me as country music… but I will admit that my understanding of country music is pretty limited. Never the less, it was an outstanding, and interactive, performance, and I would go see them again in a heartbeat. The only thing I didn’t like about the concert was that we ended up being seated with a bunch of people who barely even clapped. I can’t say that the people around me didn’t enjoy the concert, but cause they were all older people and were most likely just very stoic. What a bummer that they couldn’t cut loose a little and sing along a little bit.

If you are looking for a good time, and Sugarland is playing near you, make the effort to go see them…it’s well worth it!

About Sparrow
I am a 47 years young and the mother of two amazing young men, who've grown up and left me mostly an Empty-Nester. I write about what's going on in my little corner of the High Plains, or what happens to be crawling across my brain on a given day. Thank you so much for stopping by. Make yourself at home...through the magic of the internet, the coffee's always free and the doughnuts are fresh!

Leave a Reply

