Time for the State Fair


Today is the first day of the North Dakota State Fair, and it’s going to be a doozy this year. Not only did we get a brand new grand stand, but KISS is playing at the fair. For some of you readers from big cities, that probably doesn’t seem like a big deal, but in North Dakota having KISS come to the State Fair is a big deal. We live close enough to the Fairgrounds that we can walk there, and it provides a lot of entertainment when the traffic for the big shows is backed up all the way to my house…makes for interesting people watching. The funny thing about people in their cars is that they do a lot of stuff in their cars they don’t think people will see them do. Oddly enough, most cars are mostly all windows on top, and you can see everything going on in the car. Silly people!

Older Son will be working all nine days of the Fair. Younger Son isn’t working yet, being only 15, so he’s going to spend all nine days riding rides, meeting friends and eating Fair Food.

Behold the luscious goodness of mini donuts!

Hmmm…Fair Food is the best part of the State Fair!  Buffalo Burgers, Mini Donuts, fresh lemonade, fresh cherry lime-ade, Gyros…and let’s not forget that at the State Fair you can get anything, and everything, deep-fried. It’s a mind-blowing, heart exploding, junk food orgy. The Buffalo Burgers are the best, and so good, you don’t even need ketchup.

Having been going to the North Dakota State Fair since I was very small, it’s lost a little bit of it’s luster for me. I’m not much for rides anymore. I’d actually rather go through all the 4H exhibits and the commercial buildings. I also love to people watch. Last year, during the Motley Crew concert, two guys dressing in 80’s Hair Band garb walked up and down all the main drags all night long. The catch here was that the longer they walked, the more of their back sides became exposed. At the beginning of the evening, they each had one rip in the back sides of their jeans, and by the end of the night, each guy had a full cheek exposed. It was also interesting to see the people streaming out of the concert afterwards…there were many, many kids holding up their drunk 40-something parents, which was sad.  There were a lot of drunk 40-something people holding each other up on the way out. Lots of people dress up in 80’s Hair Band regalia.  It was a people-watching-palooza that night.

Something we always do every year is watch the State Fair Parade. Last year, I took my boys and my Favorite Nephews to watch. This year we’ll do the same thing, thought I’m going to try hard to get my Dad to go too. Usually it’s a lot of farm equipment, fire engines and clowns that go by, but it’s still a good time. When I was growing up, my grandparents lived just two blocks from the Fair Grounds, right on the parade route. Usually the parade fell on or around my Grandma’s birthday, so parade day was always a big deal. Lots of food, family, friends and parade watching. Good times, and I miss them. That’s ok…we’ll make new memories and take lots of pictures.

One of my oldest friends had an extra ticket to see Sugarland on the last day of the Fair, and asked me if I would like to go. So, she’s coming down next Friday night, and staying the weekend. I can’t wait!

About Sparrow
I am a 47 years young and the mother of two amazing young men, who've grown up and left me mostly an Empty-Nester. I write about what's going on in my little corner of the High Plains, or what happens to be crawling across my brain on a given day. Thank you so much for stopping by. Make yourself at home...through the magic of the internet, the coffee's always free and the doughnuts are fresh!

2 Responses to Time for the State Fair

  1. Brea says:

    minidonuts…mmmmmmnomnomnom…

    Actually, I don’t think I’m gonna go to the fair this year, I always seem to end up queasy from the heat, or just cranky from all the walkin’. I told OtherHalf to take the boy, and call it a “Guy’s day”. Hopefully that will net me a few hours ALONE. AT. THE. HOUSE. big letters, big wish…

  2. Todd Pack says:

    I’m a sucker fairs — state, county, doesn’t matter. Rides, unhealthy but delicious food, live music. You can’t go wrong.

Leave a Reply

