Work tip: Clean your desk before you leave it!


Some time ago, I posted that I had accepted a new position at work. Where I work, these kinds of transitions are slow. Generally the supervisor of the department you are leaving needs to you to stay as long as possible to help train your replacement, or tie up loose ends if you aren’t being replaced, and the new supervisor needs you to be there as soon as possible because there’s a gap that needs filling yesterday. So, the compromise is half days at both departments, which is what I am experiencing now.

Yesterday I discovered that the last person to use my new desk had finally cleared away her crap, so I thought I would clean it up and get some of my stuff moved down. This is where the rant starts. I’ve been at my place of work for almost 11 years, and in that time I have had numerous different desks. What is true in all cases is that of all of the desk moves I’ve done (close to 20, not necessarily for getting a different job), with the exception of a very few, the new desk is always filthy.  In some cases, people leave a complete pig sty for your to clean up after. Ugh…

In this case, it wasn’t too bad, but there was food crumbs in drawers and makeup all over the desk surface. It wouldn’t have taken much time for this person to just have cleaned up her mess before moving on, but apparently she was in a hurry. Truly, you don’t make friends at work by leaving a dirty desk behind you.

It’s all cleaned up now, and I’m partially moved in. (Yay!) I can’t wait to finally get moved into my new desk completely. I’m so done with where I’m at.

About Sparrow
I am a 47 years young and the mother of two amazing young men, who've grown up and left me mostly an Empty-Nester. I write about what's going on in my little corner of the High Plains, or what happens to be crawling across my brain on a given day. Thank you so much for stopping by. Make yourself at home...through the magic of the internet, the coffee's always free and the doughnuts are fresh!

2 Responses to Work tip: Clean your desk before you leave it!

  1. Sandra says:

    Thanks for sharing the tip. This is very important.

Leave a Reply

