Ground Cherries!


I got something new for my garden this year. It’s a plant called a Ground Cherry. I got my Dad three of these for Father’s Day, and got myself three of them as well.

Ground Cherries are a member of the tomato family, and are similar to gooseberries. The particular species I bought will be yellow in color, and are supposed to be very sweet for plain eating, but can also be used for jams and jellies.

My first Ground Cherries!

I went out to my garden last night to water and weed, and discovered that I actually have a few growing on my little plants! I was worried I wouldn’t see any this year as the plants are still so small, but I got lucky.  I can’t wait to taste them!

It never ceases to amaze me that I can make something grow that will give me something to eat. It feels almost miraculous.

About Sparrow
I am a 47 years young and the mother of two amazing young men, who've grown up and left me mostly an Empty-Nester. I write about what's going on in my little corner of the High Plains, or what happens to be crawling across my brain on a given day. Thank you so much for stopping by. Make yourself at home...through the magic of the internet, the coffee's always free and the doughnuts are fresh!

2 Responses to Ground Cherries!

  1. I’ll take up gardening on the day they invent a Fajita Plant……or a Kung Pao Chicken plant……you get the idea….

Leave a Reply

