Confessions of a Lead Foot Annie


Older son and I went out to run errands today. We ran to the bank, returned some unused home improvement items, bought some other home improvement items, and had a load of river rock delivered for the edging I’ll be putting up around the house. A very successful morning, but one that wouldn’t have been possible without getting in the car and driving.

Even though we live in a small town (approx. 37,000) our traffic can be hectic, and fast-paced, especially around rush-hour times like Noon and 6pm. My problem isn’t with the fast drivers…it’s with the slow pokes. You know the ones I’m talking about; the sight seers and looky-loos. The ones who like to take their sweet time and don’t care that I have somewhere to be make me cranky.  Those who are driving ahead of me, seemingly without a purpose really get under my skin.

Today, Older Son commented to me that I needed to have more patience with people. This was said after I complained bitterly that “Farmer Bob will not get the lead out, and get of my way!”  It was obvious to me that the aforementioned “Farmer Bob” had plenty of time to go and was just gazing about, not paying attention. When I’m driving, I seldom drive just for the fun of driving. I always have a purpose and a place to be, and god help other drivers if they can’t get the lead out and get going. By that I don’t mean that I would exact any sort of vengeance, except for the rare occasion I have to blow the horn at a particularly oblivious driver. But, let me tell you about the chatter that happens in my car. The vitriolic commentary coming from my driver’s seat,  directed at bozos on the road, is prolific and merciless. Of course, I watch the swearing as I usually have kids in the car with me, but I am pretty creative with my descriptors and directives.

I know that driving with impatience is not good. It’s not good for the driver, the passengers or the other drivers on the road. It’s a bad habit, and I’m in the process of trying to relax when I drive and tone down the invective a little bit. In the spirit of changing my ways, I’ve put together a to-do list of driving habits I need to change:

  1. Anyone and everyone else who just can’t get the lead out should not be addressed as Farmer Bob. I actually know some farmers named Bob, and they are neither slow nor incompetent drivers. This bad habit of mine came from living on the Prairie my whole life and having been stuck behind my share of  farm equipment driving down a skinny road. It’s slow going…ugh.
  2. Breathe deep and be patient with the elderly who can’t help but go slow. I need to remember that it will be me driving slow when I hit that stage of life. At least I hope I’m still driving when I’m old!
  3. I have been a bozo in some other driver’s estimation, at various times in my life, so I need to get off my high horse and cut other people some slack.
  4. Perhaps, instead of hurling insults at my fellow drivers, I should just hum a tune to keep my mouth busy while I’m waiting for my turn to go… even if grass is growing underneath their car for going so slow.
  5. I need to be conscious of showing a good example for my kids to learn from. I have one son driving, and the other one will begin driving a year from now. You know it’s bad when your kid tells you to have some patience.

Wish me luck…old habits die hard!

About Sparrow
I am a 47 years young and the mother of two amazing young men, who've grown up and left me mostly an Empty-Nester. I write about what's going on in my little corner of the High Plains, or what happens to be crawling across my brain on a given day. Thank you so much for stopping by. Make yourself at home...through the magic of the internet, the coffee's always free and the doughnuts are fresh!

5 Responses to Confessions of a Lead Foot Annie

  1. Hel'wyse says:

    living in Idaho has taught me much….first if you have 2 lane mountain road with a compleat drop on one side and you have 2 logging trucks and a cussed huge RV ahead of you and a cattle truck behind you….you better just sit back and enjoy the scenary till ya hit a passing lane….or better yet….6 am…going to CDA and 50 Elk snorting in the cold air cross the road sslloowwllyy in front of you…..lean back, sip yr coffee and enjoy the view.

  2. Brea says:

    LOL, Traffic Tourettes. I’ve got it. Ya know, tho, it’s a good way to blow off that steam, “vent the kettle before the top pops”. I do all my cussing with the window closed ~ they never hear me, and when I’m rocking from side to side, if they see me, I could just be singing along to the heavy metal blaring out the speakers. They just don’t know.

    S’ok, my friend. Long as you’re not ramming their bumpers, or shaking your fists (keep both hands on the wheel, lady!) or cutting them off to get out and engage in fisticuffs, I think you’re fine.

    Being angry and venting is normal, acting on it is what gets you in trouble!

  3. redriverpak says:

    Farmer Bob…..I think I have been behind him many times myself……

  4. The thing is that if you left a few minutes earlier you’d be way too early because those obstacles aren’t around when you’re early.

  5. Pingback: When Road Rage Rhonda appears « Sparrow's Ramblings

Leave a Reply

