“To anyone who finds this letter, you are what remains of the human race.”


I was clearing out the clutter that covered my desk and discovered a piece of paper folded over at the top.  I wanted to make sure I didn’t throw away anything that might have an important note or phone number on it, so I unfolded the paper and found this:

“To anyone who finds this letter, you are what remains of the human race.”

I recognized the handwriting as being that of Older Son. In recent months he’s been writing a lot of stories, and I find snippets like this one on random pieces of paper around the house. Every once in a while he’ll bring me a story to read. The grammar and spelling are atrocious, but the stories are good. He’s got a really interesting voice that somehow shines through the clutter of his small, hard to read hand writing. I keep telling him that he should take a creative writing class, but he refuses. I get the impression he thinks that I don’t believe his writing is good enough. It is good enough, but taking a writing class could help him grow this ability into something bigger. Perhaps next year I can get him to take a class with me. It’s something I’ve been wanting to do for a long time myself.

Perhaps it’s just me, because I’m his mother, but I really want to know what caused the extinction of the human race in his mind. I’m guessing it’s zombies or a potential cause of WWIII, as those seem to be prevalent motif’s in his writing lately…he is 17, after all.  When I asked him about it, he smiled and said, “Oh, that’s where that went.” I dug a little further, but he wouldn’t tell me why…he just smiled.

About Sparrow
I am a 47 years young and the mother of two amazing young men, who've grown up and left me mostly an Empty-Nester. I write about what's going on in my little corner of the High Plains, or what happens to be crawling across my brain on a given day. Thank you so much for stopping by. Make yourself at home...through the magic of the internet, the coffee's always free and the doughnuts are fresh!

One Response to “To anyone who finds this letter, you are what remains of the human race.”

  1. Hel'wyse says:

    ,,Mama should write on a serious binge…….just a journal besides the blog

Leave a Reply

