Oh, I want to believe! But…why?!


So, a funny thing happened to me on the 4th of July. I had just come back from seeing a late movie (Twilight: Eclipse…more about that in another post). I had to go back out to the van to get something and I saw these lights floating down the street towards my house. I watched two of them go by as I stood there trying to figure out what they were, and then noticed that several more were coming down the street. They seemed to hang a sharp right and go north, just as they reached the building across the road from my house. Ok…so they didn’t make any noise, and there’s a series of lights moving down the street and all of them are following a very strange flight path, each hanging a sharp right turn, one after another.

OK. This is high strangeness, so I must get it on video! There have been UFO reports in my area before, and I know people who’ve seen strange things around here, so I’m thinking that finally I’m getting to see the strange flying things too!! I got the camera and took a quick video of what I was seeing. As I was taking the video, the boys came home from watching the fireworks with their dad and his hussy, er, girlfriend, and they promptly burst my bubble. Apparently, what I was seeing were giant candle balloons that someone was lighting and letting go down the street, and they would hang a sharp right when the current they were riding was disrupted by the air vents on the building across the intersection from my house.   I would love to post the video here for you, but it’s saved in an .MOV extension that isn’t compatible with WordPress, darn it all. I have heard reports of odd things flying about here (Brea, you and I are going to have to go hang out and sky watch before the summer is over…you have way better luck than I do!), and North Dakota has its share of UFO sightings and all manner of other strange occurences.

This is a close up of what I was seeing from a distance. They flew pretty fast and far before I lost sight of them.

Anyway, long story short, the whole point of this story is that I was so ready and willing to believe that something strange could be floating past my house that my ability to think clearly and really analyze what I was seeing was completely suspended. I was so eager to get some proof that there was something otherworldly and unusual hanging about, and then when I found out it was just a whole bunch of flying luminaries people were letting go as an act of remembrance on the 4th of July, I felt completely let down…it was as though the Universe had pranked me. As I posted in my friend’s blog, Brea’s Aire, it was enough to make me crumple up my tin foil hat and chuck it behind the couch.

So, enough pouting. The question to ask is why are people so fascinated with the unknown? So many of us would like to find proof of something fantastic and spectacular like visitors from somewhere else, but it doesn’t end there. We also want to know about Bigfoot, ghosts, secret government experimental aircraft reverse-engineered from crashed flying saucers, ruins on Mars, etc. We want to know more…some of us want to believe. I think  to know that there is more to the Universe than just our day-to-day lives on our beautiful little blue planet would be an amazing thing.

We are a planet of information junkies. Science has taken us so far, and so much is known, but we always have to know more. Think about the days when news only came to your village once in a while, only because someone traveled though and passed the news on. Now, we have information at our fingertips from all over the globe, on demand. There is literally nothing out of our reach.  My goodness, how strange it would be to find out we are the only ones here. How terrible it would be to find out that we are alone in this vast Universe.  I don’t believe that’s the case, but it’s certainly debatable as to whether we’ve been visited or not. I do choose to keep my mind open about it, but I want proof. How about now?!

For just a few minutes that evening reality was suspended just long enough for my mind to be open to the possibility that, perhaps, I was seeing something strange and wondrous. It was a nice few minutes. I only hope that someday I get to really actually see something strange and wondrous!

About Sparrow
I am a 47 years young and the mother of two amazing young men, who've grown up and left me mostly an Empty-Nester. I write about what's going on in my little corner of the High Plains, or what happens to be crawling across my brain on a given day. Thank you so much for stopping by. Make yourself at home...through the magic of the internet, the coffee's always free and the doughnuts are fresh!

4 Responses to Oh, I want to believe! But…why?!

  1. Brea says:

    LOL, I live 3 blocks from the airport! And, with all the loose screws rolling around inside my head, I’m bound to see some weird stuff. *grin*

    Seriously, tho, people want to know that there’s more to life than just the everyday grind. There is a longing for the mystical, the magickal ~ something beyond the mundane. We, as a race, have always reached for something “beyond” ourselves. It’s what keeps us going, searching, and occasionally, finding answers.

    I don’t know what it was that I saw on the 4th. It could have been just about anything. But I’m willing to suspend “belief” for the magick of the evening. Just for a moment, I was privileged to witness something special, I got to have a deep philosophical talk with my 11-year old, and it was more about the shared moment, than about whatever it was in the sky. That’s the true magick.

  2. Hel'wyse says:

    why woul;d it seem lost and forlorn if we were the only beings out there?

  3. I keep an open mind on all those things, UFO’s, Bigfoot, Ghosts, etc. Until they can prove 100% that they DON’T exist, I will always believe that it is possible that they do. I would have done the same thing in your shoes and would have grabbed the camera and video camera “just in case”.

  4. saronguardian says:

    I respect the work you have done so much.
    I was hoping you could take a look at the information below and get back to me with your thoughts.

    I am a trance channel for a Seraphim Angel by the name of Saron. His purpose is to put people on or keep people on the pathway to ascension or enlightenment. I channel publicly weekly at the Ganesha Center in Las Vegas, NV. You can find my blog at:
    http://saronguardian.wordpress.com

    Erik

Leave a Reply

