Bathroom demolition begins!


Well, I got the word that the bathroom renovation will start today as scheduled. I’m grateful and panicked all at the same time. How’s that for a strange mix of emotions?!

The idea that someone will come into my house and take chunks of it away is strange, and a little anxiety inducing, even though I don’t want or need those parts anymore. I’ll be getting new and improved parts, so this is a good thing. A new tub with a shower that’s higher up, and a spigot that works properly. A new pedestal sink, and a  new toilet that will work better than the last. New flooring will be put down that will be more currently dated than 1985, and I’ll get to put in new storage. And paint…I’ll get to have painted walls in a color of my choice instead of that nasty, cheap, faux tile wallboard. Oh yes…it will be fabulous when it  gets done.

In the mean time, why should I be panicked? The kids and I will move out of our house and will be living with my parents for the next week and a half. Change is happening, almost like it’s coming on like a freight train. I will miss my washer and dryer, and my bed. I have to take Younger Son to a post-operative appointment just when the guys are to arrive to begin demolition, so poor Older Son has to stay here to answer the door and man the fort to begin with. Whine, whine, whine…I could go on ad nauseum.

Anyway, zero hour approaches and I have to get Older Son out of bed and into the shower. I have several things to do yet. Hopefully I’ll have more later!

About Sparrow
I am a 47 years young and the mother of two amazing young men, who've grown up and left me mostly an Empty-Nester. I write about what's going on in my little corner of the High Plains, or what happens to be crawling across my brain on a given day. Thank you so much for stopping by. Make yourself at home...through the magic of the internet, the coffee's always free and the doughnuts are fresh!

Leave a Reply

