A good day!


We spent the afternoon with Mom and Dad, and it was a nice afternoon eating pizza and just enjoying each other’s company in the screened-in porch, or what we affectionately call the “Green Room”. More on the Green Room in another post…

After we came home, I went back to finishing up the garden and picking up the back yard. All the plants are finally in, and tomorrow I will clear away another part of the yard for the squash and some herbs.  Here are some pictures of how it’s progressing:

Taken same perspective as the rest of the back yard pictures I've posted so far

You can see here that there is also a bird bath in the middle of the garden. I hadn’t used this in a long time and my Dad discovered it, and took it home and fixed the cracks. To the left of the garden you can see the very last vestiges of the tree – lots and lots of twigs that we raked out of the grass. This Monday I should be able to get rid of them for good. I’m sure my garbage men will be happy to see the last of that!  After I get the twigs put in the garbage cans tomorrow, I’ll be digging up that space  to make a spot for the squashes.

I’ve also posted a picture of it a little closer up below. You can tell that the tomatoes aren’t looking too happy, but we are supposed to get more rain this afternoon and evening, so that will help them a lot.

A little closer in...pardon the compost heap in the back!

I planted a few Marigolds around the bird bath, and Younger says I’ve now wrecked the garden for making it all “girlie”. I tried to explain to him that Marigolds are known for keeping away bad bugs and encouraging good ones. Nope…it’s just girlie now. I know he’s kidding, and that’s alright.

I’ll be putting a border around the garden once I have it all situated. A little backwards I know, but it’s been a backwards kind of summer! As long as the garden grows and doesn’t get rained out, that’s all that really matters in the end.

About Sparrow
I am a 47 years young and the mother of two amazing young men, who've grown up and left me mostly an Empty-Nester. I write about what's going on in my little corner of the High Plains, or what happens to be crawling across my brain on a given day. Thank you so much for stopping by. Make yourself at home...through the magic of the internet, the coffee's always free and the doughnuts are fresh!

Leave a Reply

