A long, painful, wet day


Ugh… I’ll be glad when today is done and I can start fresh tomorrow.

Younger Son made it through getting his wisdom teeth out this morning. As soon as they wheeled him out I could see the Novocaine was wearing off and I cursed myself for not having asked for his prescriptions when he went into surgery, so I could have taken him right home afterward. Nope…had to stand in line at the pharmacy for way too long. I left him resting in the van while I ran in, and when I got back out he was rolling around in his seat with agony. By the time I got him home and got the pain killers down him he was almost out of  his mind with the pain, and freaking out because he couldn’t feel his face. Ah, but the pain killers kicked in and he slept all afternoon. Now he’s up and has had something to eat, and more pain killers, and is now playing a video game.

Then the rain came. And the basement got wet. We’ve had hard rains here before, but nothing like this. We had water leaking into the basement where it we never had leaks before. Luckily the rain has stopped and I’m hopeful that there won’t be any more heavy rain like that again today. Better to know about leaks like that when we’re home than when we’re not.

So, after all that, I’m sitting in the living room and I’ve fallen asleep. The phone rings, and it’s the guy who’s supposed to be gutting and remodeling my bathroom called to let me know that he won’t be starting the job on Monday. He is going to Rochester to be with his sister while she has surgery. He’s a good brother, but I’m bummed. I really, really wanted to get that started and finished. He indicated to me that he would start on Wednesday… as long as everything went well with his sister’s surgery. Uff-da.

Here’s the good news:  Younger son is doing well despite the fact that he thought he was dying earlier. My basement will dry out, and the bathroom will get done.   The Sun isn’t going to shine for a couple of days, but I can still try to fix the leaky basement. There was no tornado or lightning strike. I still have my sanity.   My Dad’s sister is coming to visit from Illinois next Wednesday. Ian’s doctor just called to check up on him…what a rarity these days.

I’m very sure there are more blessings stashed around here if I just look hard enough…

About Sparrow
I am a 47 years young and the mother of two amazing young men, who've grown up and left me mostly an Empty-Nester. I write about what's going on in my little corner of the High Plains, or what happens to be crawling across my brain on a given day. Thank you so much for stopping by. Make yourself at home...through the magic of the internet, the coffee's always free and the doughnuts are fresh!

Leave a Reply

