A new job?


I had a surprising phone call today. Last week I interviewed for a different job within the company I work for, and didn’t expect to hear anything back about it until the very end of June. However, the ladies I interviewed with called today to ask me to come down and chat with them as they wanted to follow-up after our meeting last week.

Hmmmmm…Uh-oh.

Usually those kinds of phone calls mean only that they want to meet with you to let you know that they have given the position to someone else, and to let you know the details why. Surprisingly enough, these kinds of meetings can be helpful in that the supervisor who is letting you down gently will often give you pointers on how to boost up your skills for the next time you apply. I’ve already had one of those sorts of meetings in the last two months, and I wasn’t too thrilled about having to attend another one.

Once I got to the meeting room and the supervisor started talking, I was pleasantly surprised to find out that I wasn’t getting let down gently, but getting more clarification on what the job entails. Given my skill set and the amount of time I’ve been at this company (11 years), they just wanted to make sure I understood what all the job entailed, and also to make sure it wouldn’t be too boring for me. <giggle!>

After speaking with the supervisor #1, supervisor #2 came in and we talked some more. After that, I sat with supervisor #2 to get a feel for what all the job entailed. I’m supposed to call supervisor #1 tomorrow after I’ve thought it over and let her know how I feel about it, and let her know if I have any questions. Sounds pretty positive to me. Even if I weren’t to get the position, it sure was nice to have been pursued!

I am taking a week and two days off of work, starting  June 17th, and then I’ll be back on June 28th. Hopefully, by that time I’ll be getting notified that I’m transferring to this new department…Wish me luck!

About Sparrow
I am a 47 years young and the mother of two amazing young men, who've grown up and left me mostly an Empty-Nester. I write about what's going on in my little corner of the High Plains, or what happens to be crawling across my brain on a given day. Thank you so much for stopping by. Make yourself at home...through the magic of the internet, the coffee's always free and the doughnuts are fresh!

One Response to A new job?

  1. Brea says:

    WOO HOO! This is wonderful! LOL, Lunch Friday? *Crossing fingers, eyes & toes for you*

Leave a Reply

