Robin Hood, new twists on an old story


Just this morning, I finished a book by one of my new favorite authors, Stephen Lawhead, called Hood.

It’s the story of Robin Hood, but taken from quite a new vantage point in history.  In this book, Lawhead puts forward the idea that the Robin Hood myth actually originated in Wales, not the forests of Nottingham. Without giving anything else about this story away I will say that it’s excellently done, and I encourage you to give it a read. If you are a rabid reader like me, you will appreciate that this story is not completed in one book, but three. Lawhead also has several other series out as well. These will keep me busy for a long time!

Speaking of Robin Hood, I’ve heard quite a few complaints about Russell Crowe’s new movie of the same name. The complaints seem to stem from the fact that the movie diverges from the “original” story that we all know and love. I saw it and LOVED it. Part of the reason I liked it so well (ahem… aside from the fact that Mr. Crowe is just delicious to watch…) is that it took a well-worn story and really sent it in a new direction. It is truly what I would call the story before the story begins. It gives good insight into how Robin Hood might have come to be as a character. It gives a more three-dimensional human face to the story than what I’ve seen before, as does Lawhead’s version.

Don’t get me wrong, I am a big fan of the Robin Hood story as we’ve come to know it. However, there is something very tantalizing about knowing more. Admittedly, I am a story junkie, and I will read most anything that is written well. I like a story that grabs me from the first page and doesn’t let go, even at the end. It’s what comes after and before that really puts my imagination in high gear.

Something interesting to note about the “original” Robin Hood story is that is an amalgam of many stories generated over a long period of time. Lawhead discusses this at the end of Hood, and it’s something that was taken into consideration in the making of the newest Robin Hood movie. I watched an interesting documentary on The History Channel which tells about the evolution of the story. It’s a fascinating piece that’s well worth making time to watch.

If you could put your own spin on the Robin Hood story, where would you take it?

About Sparrow
I am a 47 years young and the mother of two amazing young men, who've grown up and left me mostly an Empty-Nester. I write about what's going on in my little corner of the High Plains, or what happens to be crawling across my brain on a given day. Thank you so much for stopping by. Make yourself at home...through the magic of the internet, the coffee's always free and the doughnuts are fresh!

2 Responses to Robin Hood, new twists on an old story

  1. Hel'wyse says:

    I’d be Maid Marion……grin

Leave a Reply

