Younger Son is coming home today


I can’t believe it’s been 10 days since I dropped Younger Son off at the high school building so he could get on a bus with the other kids to go to Jr. Air Force ROTC camp. I was so sure that it would feel like a million years in between dropping off and picking up.

It’s been too quiet around here. Younger has a way of filling up a room like nobody else I know, and the house has felt empty. He finally called home on Monday night to let me know he was still breathing, and that made me feel a little better. The thing I noticed the most about his conversation is that he mostly talked about the food isn’t so hot where he is. I guess he will appreciate my cooking a little more these days!

On the flip side, Older Son has been talking my ear off. Usually he’s pretty quiet, but I think that’s because Younger is the one that’s usually doing the most talking. It’s been fun spending so much time alone with Older. He’s quite an interesting young man. He showed me a story he wrote about someone having an out-of-body experience and, for all the spelling and grammatical errors, the kid has an interesting voice that shines right through all that. His sense of feeling and action is so sharp…I wish he’d take some creative writing classes to help him hone that, but he refuses. Well, maybe next year I can talk him into taking one with me.

Anyway, time to go to work. I have just a half day today before I pick Younger up from his drop off point. And, I have a job interview today. Wish me luck!

About Sparrow
I am a 47 years young and the mother of two amazing young men, who've grown up and left me mostly an Empty-Nester. I write about what's going on in my little corner of the High Plains, or what happens to be crawling across my brain on a given day. Thank you so much for stopping by. Make yourself at home...through the magic of the internet, the coffee's always free and the doughnuts are fresh!

Leave a Reply

