Viscous ignorance…ewwww! It’s sticky, get it off me!


I was reading someone’s blog today and discovered a phrase I just couldn’t help but write about: viscous ignorance.  I believe that he was trying to say vicious ignorance, but spelled it wrong. No matter…viscous is still a fabulous way to characterize ignorance. Here is what Webster has to say about the word viscous:

vis·cous

–adjective

1. of a glutinous nature or consistency; sticky; thick; adhesive.
2. having the property of viscosity.

Hm…mucliaginous…that’s a mighty fun word to associate with ignorance too.

It’s been my experience that the most rabidly ignorant people cling to their ignorance like it was a life line. Nothing can be said or done to sway them from whatever it is they are being ignorant about. Or…is it something else clinging to them?

Could it be Satan?!

Is that molasses, or is it ignorance in a cup?

Some people would have you believe that Satan causes all things that are bad and wrong in the world.  In my mind’s eye, I envision an incorporeal  Satan strolling undetected amongst the masses, flinging invisible, viscous sin from a rusty bucket, splattering everyone as he goes. Nothing like having someone slop a little nasty metaphysical goop on you in the morning!

Nope, sorry. I don’t buy that for a minute. We all need to take personal responsibility for our evil-doing. Viscous ignorance is something that people heap on themselves, and revel in individually and in groups…much like mud-wrestling only with more self-righteousness.  Viscous ignorance, a full-on, goopy body suit of  hate and spite. I bet it’s smelly too.  Blech…now I feel the need to go shower!

This has been fun…I think I’ll make this kind of word play a regular habit.

Speaking of word play, I need to give props to some of my favorite pod-casters, Shane and Tom of  Shane and Tom’s Squeezebox, for fostering in me a real interest in how words fit together to make people laugh until they bust a gut. Give them a listen, and they’ll give you something to think about while making you laugh. Enjoy!

About Sparrow
I am a 47 years young and the mother of two amazing young men, who've grown up and left me mostly an Empty-Nester. I write about what's going on in my little corner of the High Plains, or what happens to be crawling across my brain on a given day. Thank you so much for stopping by. Make yourself at home...through the magic of the internet, the coffee's always free and the doughnuts are fresh!

3 Responses to Viscous ignorance…ewwww! It’s sticky, get it off me!

  1. Hel'wyse says:

    Ewwwww….I need a shower….

    I have met people who actually look like that sounds

  2. Brea says:

    Yes! Thank you! I love your ideas for “viscous ignorance”… hmmm, gonna have to swipe that phrase, I think… ;D

  3. sparrow1969 says:

    Hel’wyse…I know what you mean about having met people who look like that sounds. Yucky!

    Brea… I think we could have a lot of fun with this kinds of word pairings. Hope to see you at lunch tomorrow!

Leave a Reply

