All done but the cleanup


On Friday, my friends came over, chopped up the tree and hauled the pieces to their house to use in their wood stove. Today the last load of big branches went out to the curb for pickup. Now it’s just a matter of raking up all the twigs that are tangled up in the grass…but that can wait until later. I do have a couple more saplings that need to come down, but that won’t take long. Dad said he could come over later in the week to take care of that last bit. But the big tree? It’s gone. Interestingly enough, I counted the rings on that tree, an it is as the same as age me. I know it probably means nothing, but I found it a little strange.

So, here is a before and after:

Before the shed was moved and the tree was taken down

The yard look so much bigger!

My neighbor’s shed isn’t the most attractive thing to look at, but I’m going to plant some dwarf trees in front of it, so after a few years, you won’t be able to see it at all. I’ll also be cleaning out all that brush behind the shed and installing a six-foot fence around the back yard. On the fence I’ll be training vines and trees so you won’t be able to see it for the greenery after a while either. I can’t wait to see what it all looks like five years from now!

I’m also hoping to still get a garden in by next week. It’s late, but at least the plants will be cheaper by this time in the season.

More pictures to come as the summer progresses!

About Sparrow
I am a 47 years young and the mother of two amazing young men, who've grown up and left me mostly an Empty-Nester. I write about what's going on in my little corner of the High Plains, or what happens to be crawling across my brain on a given day. Thank you so much for stopping by. Make yourself at home...through the magic of the internet, the coffee's always free and the doughnuts are fresh!

Leave a Reply

