Lilacs…just the beginning.


I love lilacs, and am very lucky to have a neighbor with an exceptionally large lilac bush that leans over our shared property line. Most years I get too busy and forget to go clip some, bring them in and put them in a vase, but I got lucky this year. Here’s a picture of my morning haul:

Lilacs half bloomed on May 23rd 2010

I absolutely adore lilacs, but I am allergic to them. For some reason their intoxicating smell keeps me coming back…good thing I don’t suffer anything more than a runny nose as a result of sniffing them with gusto!

Calendula

Calendula

Looking at this lovely bunch of flowers makes me realize that I don’t just want a garden that produces food. I really do want flowers above and beyond those that I will plant just because they perform pest control on the garden (nasturtiums, marigolds/calendula, sunflowers etc.).

Nasturtium

Sunflower

So, what do I want to plant? Good question…

I love lots of flowers, so I think I will have to make sure to pack in a lot, especially in my front yard. Most of them will have to be perennial and I’ll have to plant them in clumps of different varieties that will bloom progressively over the spring summer and fall.  Hm…gives me much plant food for thought, but I do know that some I must have are tulips, irises and lilies. That probably takes care of the spring group right there.

For mid summer flowers, I’ll plant more columbine for sure, but I’m not certain what else I want, but perhaps some peonies? Late summer/fall flowers are going to be mums for sure. I love mums. Roses…Hm…lots of varieties to pic from there!

The beauty of not knowing exactly what I want is that my little gardens will be works of art in progress!

About Sparrow
I am a 47 years young and the mother of two amazing young men, who've grown up and left me mostly an Empty-Nester. I write about what's going on in my little corner of the High Plains, or what happens to be crawling across my brain on a given day. Thank you so much for stopping by. Make yourself at home...through the magic of the internet, the coffee's always free and the doughnuts are fresh!

3 Responses to Lilacs…just the beginning.

  1. breaaire says:

    Ah, love me some lilacs!
    A little chamomile… a little Echinacea… a little lavender…maybe? *cocking head*
    LOL, I just used some of my chamomile, it’s finally almost spread through the whole flower bed, like I wanted it to! Sweet, sweet…

  2. sparrow1969 says:

    Nice!

    I’m hoping to have a “naturalized” herb garden too. Did you make tea with your chamomile?

    • breaaire says:

      Actually, no! LOL, I made a couple of chamomile and sage sachets for dream protection for a friend of Will’s. They are only temporary measures, till she can do something a little more permanent, but they’ll help, I hope!

      I haven’t found a tea yet that I like, most of them taste like wet grass to me! ack…

Leave a Reply

