Soothing Rain, a dying tree and planting plans


Today I woke up a little after 4 am, or so I thought. My clock was blinking, letting me know that the power had gone off at some point in the night. I actually slept in until a little after 7am. Bliss…I’m usually up before 6 to get everyone ready for the day. As I sit at the computer writing this, the sound of the rain is so soothing. I opened the window so the fresh smell will come in the house…hmm!

It seems that we had weather nasty enough last night that it knocked the power off-line, and I slept right through it… I must have been super tired. Below is a snippet I took from the National Weather Service through NOAA, showing that we still have rain coming through our fair state of ND. It’s supposed to rain all day today with the possibility of thunderstorms. I LOVE a good thunderstorm. There’s just something about it that makes everything¬† feel cleaner after it’s done.

Picture courtesy of noaa.com

Now that the shed has been moved from one side of my yard to the other, the tree has to come down. We can’t today with all the rain, but hopefully tomorrow it will dry up enough to let us get it done. This particular tree is some kind of ash, and it is dying from the bottom up, as ash trees around here are prone to do. Not only is it ugly, but it’s hanging over my neighbor’s shed and I’m afraid that it will just start dropping big dead branches on it in the near future. Better to cut it up and give it to my friends for firewood.

Goodbye Ash Tree...and good riddance!

This picture makes it look smaller than it is as most of it is hanging away from the camera. After the tree is gone, planting will begin in earnest, and I’d like to include small fruit trees. One of these is the Pembina Plum. I’ll have to get another different variety of plum (probably Opata Cherry Plum) for pollinating purposes, but that’s ok. These trees stay small enough that they won’t overwhelm my small back yard and they will be easy to keep up. I’m also going to put in several other fruiting shrubs along the back of my yard: Nanking cherry, choke cherry, black berry and perhaps high bush blueberries. We’ll see! There’s so much out there I want to plant, and so little yard! Even so, in about 3-5 years, I’ll have more fruit that I’ll know what to do with!

About Sparrow
I am a 47 years young and the mother of two amazing young men, who've grown up and left me mostly an Empty-Nester. I write about what's going on in my little corner of the High Plains, or what happens to be crawling across my brain on a given day. Thank you so much for stopping by. Make yourself at home...through the magic of the internet, the coffee's always free and the doughnuts are fresh!

Leave a Reply

