Edible Landscaping


I read a book that has really influenced the way I look at my yard. It’s called Edible Estates: Attack on the Front Lawn. It details the history of why people have large expanses of grass, as well as giving accounts of several families who chose to replace their front yards with vegetable gardens.

Most people just aren’t happy unless their grass is smooth and weed-free. This last Sunday I drove past no less that four people within in 15 minutes who were either spraying poison on their laws to kill the dandelions, or digging them out by hand.  Little did they know they were killing something you can eat like salad (the leaves are very nutritious), but you can also make a lovely wine from the flowers. The idea of investing time, effort and money into something that will not give you anything back, except admiring looks from passersby, drives me nuts. I think I have more dandelions that actual grass. This is exactly what my front lawn looked like yesterday morning before I mowed it… and I like it that way:

Aren’t I the rebellious one?!

Don’t get me wrong… lawns are pretty, and certainly nice on bare feet. I just think your yard should give you something back, in stead of being a drain on resources.

Eventually I plan to replace my little front lawn with all things that will grow me something I can eat, or use. There are a lot of things one can grow in a front yard that are pretty and give you fruit to eat. It’s my fondest wish that I will have NO grass at some point in the future, and the whole yard will be landscaped with lovely things that just keep producing fruit for me year after year. It might take me five years to get there, but I’ll get there. Here are some pictures of the lovely things I will landscape my yard with:

Lingonberry

Top Hat Blueberry

Nanking Cherry

Arctic Beauty Kiwi

About Sparrow
I am a 47 years young and the mother of two amazing young men, who've grown up and left me mostly an Empty-Nester. I write about what's going on in my little corner of the High Plains, or what happens to be crawling across my brain on a given day. Thank you so much for stopping by. Make yourself at home...through the magic of the internet, the coffee's always free and the doughnuts are fresh!

One Response to Edible Landscaping

  1. breaaire says:

    I think I want to plant that Arctic Kiwi now, just cause I like the leaves… I said it before, I’ll say it again. YOU FIND THE COOLEST STUFF!

Leave a Reply

