Cut away what no longer serves


Several times this week, I’ve heard this phrase: Cut away what no longer serves.

Now this is not something one hears every day, and I’ve heard it from at least three completely unrelated sources.  It’s a rather formal sounding way to communicate to someone to shed their useless baggage or habits. When I heard it the phrase was not directed to me, but said by each person about themselves and their own lives, yet it was a communication that rung my bell in a very significant way.

There is so much in my life that doesn’t serve me any more. In recent months I have thrown away, re-purposed or given away things that I don’t need, and I am in the middle of a home renovation. I don’t think this phrase I keep hearing has to do with material things, so…. that leaves the aforementioned baggage.

To cut away something you have to first find out where it is attached. How am I hooked up to it and what does it cost me to keep it or let it go? Anger is a big one for me. I’m one pissed off camper, for a lot of good reasons, but how long does one keep that before it becomes toxic to you and those around you? And how is it hooked up? In my case it seems to be spring-loaded so that it only pops out when the right trigger causes it to fire, and how do you disarm that trigger? Where is the Baggage Bomb Squad to help me find the right wire to cut?

So, once you make the decision to let that baggage go, where then do you put something so tangible it could sit on a shelf? I certainly don’t want to keep it around here. I have some ideas about where I’d like to put it, but I don’t think they are legal. What I’d like to do is find a way to re-purpose this next to useless emotion, along with the hurt and sadness, and so many other feelings that I’ve been dragging around with me for a year.

There comes a time when an emotion isn’t fresh anymore. Once it has been fired off, somehow there should be a resolution to it so it can dissipate after having served its purpose. Once there is no more purpose it just stagnates and feeds back on it self, and it grows and causes damage to anything around it. It reminds me a little bit of  food sitting in the back of the fridge that has gone bad…pretty soon stuff that’s touching it goes bad as well.

I hate cleaning out the fridge, but it has to be done. I guess I need to have a nice long look into my metaphysical fridge and do a good scrubbing.

About Sparrow
I am a 47 years young and the mother of two amazing young men, who've grown up and left me mostly an Empty-Nester. I write about what's going on in my little corner of the High Plains, or what happens to be crawling across my brain on a given day. Thank you so much for stopping by. Make yourself at home...through the magic of the internet, the coffee's always free and the doughnuts are fresh!

3 Responses to Cut away what no longer serves

  1. breaaire says:

    I hear ya! As for repurposing this type of baggage, *shrug* I’m workin’ on that issue myself, and haven’t come to any conclusions as of yet. But it’s a work in progress, at least. I think one of the important things is to not just “sit in it”. You need to be active about it, and try to do something when this emotion comes up.

    *lightning overhead*

    Like “distraction/redirection” training for animals… when you feel this bad thing coming on, turn around and do something positive, and totally unrelated, for yourself. Go for a walk, paint your nails (yeah, yeah, I know, me either, but hey, it’s an idea), take a shower, complete with loofa and nummy-smelling body soap, give yourself something pleasant to think about, instead of the bad thing.

    hmmm… gonna have to try this myself….hmmmm….

  2. Hel'wyse says:

    .clear it out, put it in a box, wrap with beautiful black ribbon and hand it over to whatever you believe in……in my case, She will deal with this ugly tumor that I have unwittingly carried all my life. I do not have to ever deal with it again.
    Then…go and live Life.

  3. owljones says:

    We ssould buy a special campground for us P/O’d campers… lol…We could call it “Pissers” and have big signs that say “Forget the Dogs! Beware the Campers…”

    I had to clean my fridge yesterday too… ewwwww… And here is something interesting… My ex keeps calling…from Alaska..So when I was cleaning the fridge..every gross thing I put in the garbage I thought of him leaving me alone… I hop it works..

Leave a Reply

