I want to believe…


I will be the first to admit, I am the proud owner of a theoretical tinfoil hat. I  love to read all the latest on conspiracy theories whether it has to do with the supposed coming end of the world in 2012, the inevitable rise of the “New World Order”, or visitation by ET’s from outer space or another dimension (there are several schools of thought on this).

Of all of the tinfoil hat theory categories out there, I think my favorite has to be about extra terrestrial life. For years we have been hearing stories from regular every day people, starting with Betty and Barney Hill, who have seen things or had experiences that no body can account for. Some stories could be the result of drug and alcohol abuse, but not all. Some could be due to mental illness, but not all. Some are hoaxes, but not all. Many cases have been reported by professionals such as police, military members and pilots of all kinds. Sightings have come from all over the globe, down through history.  Some reports have legitimate mundane explanations, but not every story can be explained away.

Some governments have disclosed their files on the matter (though the US is still holding out for some unexplained reason…something to hide maybe?), and the Catholic Church has admitted publicly that they are investigating the possibility of extra terrestrial life…they even have their own Observatory. Then there’s the story about the crash in Roswell, NM…I don’t think there’s anyone in the US who hasn’t heard about that. In some reports the aliens are evil and do painful experiments on people, and mutilate cattle. In other reports, the aliens are benevolent beings who want to help us. I would bet they come in all shapes, sizes and attitudes… just like humans.

People are still logging sightings of UFO’s as of today. When I went to the University of North Dakota, I took the first ever UFO class. One of the professors and his son had an experience and he created a class around it…fascinating stuff.  The first day, Dr. Salter asked people to voice their opinions about what they thought they were going to learn in this class, and several people stood up to say they weren’t believers. There was one lady I’ll never forget though…she stood up to speak, and she was shaking. While she didn’t give many details, she did say that she experienced something that completely changed her world view forever, and she was looking for answers. As short as her comments were, they were powerful in the telling… a raw confession, and almost a plea for help.

So, what is a UFO? Technically speaking it is an Unidentified Flying Object, which can be any flying thing that a person can’t find an explanation for. I have a sneaking suspicion that many reports are due to new technology being tested by our government. But is that all? I don’t know. There has to be a reason so many people are saying they are approached by beings that don’t look human.

Do I believe in extra terrestrial life? You betcha…the Universe is a big place, and I can’t imagine we are the only ones in it.  Do I believe anyone has traveled here from another galaxy to visit our puny planet and take samples from the locals for study, much like we do with our own wildlife? Good question. I don’t have a definitive answer to that myself, but I have suspicions, and there are people who believe it to the point of putting their reputations and those of their families on the line in order to disclose “the truth”. If it were just a few crack pots out there, I may not pay close attention, but there’s quite a movement afoot when it comes to UFO Disclosure.

Let’s put it this way…I want to believe.  It’s been said  that the Brookings Report states that the government feels that humanity (cue: Jack Nicholson voice) ‘can’t handle the truth’. Oh yeah? I think we can.

So, having said all of that…what do you think about this whole matter? Stop in, grab a cup of coffee and tell me all about it…

About Sparrow
I am a 47 years young and the mother of two amazing young men, who've grown up and left me mostly an Empty-Nester. I write about what's going on in my little corner of the High Plains, or what happens to be crawling across my brain on a given day. Thank you so much for stopping by. Make yourself at home...through the magic of the internet, the coffee's always free and the doughnuts are fresh!

2 Responses to I want to believe…

  1. owljones says:

    I was thinking, when you mentioned the pilots, how hard it must be for the government to discount these guys! They have to have better than 20/20 vision, pass a plethora of mental health tests and as for John Glenn, ( who now claims to have had a sighting), A right brain centered education that would automatically explain and discount something like a sighting, So if Glenn can see one and be convinced…
    Have a good day Sparrow!

  2. sparrow1969 says:

    No kidding…Not only John Glenn, but Edgar Mitchell too, and others. I’m guessing they were threatened with shame and loss of benefits for themselves and their families, but these guys are getting elderly and don’t have much to lose anymore. People are stepping up to tell their stories. It’ll be interesting to see how things start to play out…

    You have a good day too, Owljones…thanks for stopping by!

Leave a Reply

