Things I still like, even though I’m grown up…


Ok…we’re grown ups. So what? I’m willing to bet that many of you (all three of you who regularly read this blog, bless your hearts!) still have things from childhood that light your fires to this day.

I still use the afghan my Aunty Beth made me when I was ten. It’s a little worn and holy, but I love it.

I love floating little things in rivulets of water and watching them flow down the stream, whichever way that might be.

And then there’s the thing that really got me to thinking about the subject, which is this video. This is Queen’s Bohemian Rhapsody as redone by… no jokin!…The Muppets!

I like anything done by The Muppets. It was one of my very favorite shows as a child, and I still love them today. Animal has to be my favorite, and I think it’s because he loves his mama so much! 😉

The Swedish Chef is a favorite of mine too…Check out this video where he makes pumpkin pie:

I could go on and on, but instead I think I’ll ask what are some things that you still love, even though you’re all grown up?

About Sparrow
I am a 47 years young and the mother of two amazing young men, who've grown up and left me mostly an Empty-Nester. I write about what's going on in my little corner of the High Plains, or what happens to be crawling across my brain on a given day. Thank you so much for stopping by. Make yourself at home...through the magic of the internet, the coffee's always free and the doughnuts are fresh!

3 Responses to Things I still like, even though I’m grown up…

  1. Hel'wyse says:

    what from my childhood?…my pencil and paper…as long as I had them and crayons I could escape into my own world of castles with turrets so high they pierced the clouds in front of the temples in the skye of the ancients…of forests with lowering branches and cool quiet Glens that had little cottages built into trees and mushrooms and people liked you and accepted you. Time alone with my record of Scherrarzad…and the smell of a very old library on a very hot summer day and the dark little aisle that held all the fairy tales…the red book of fairy tales, lilac book of fairy tales….all the books. When I could get on my bike and charge away from home…wind in my hair. …. my little working washing machine that was in my hidey hole in the big hedge where my dollies lived and the fairies came to tell me stories and teeny tiny red clothespins to hang up my dolly clothes. yes, there were things I can smell and feel now….dancing in the rain with my old leather moccasins that Mom threww out 5 times and I dug out of the garbage 5 times…and 3 yrs ago, watching my youngest daughter (who was in college) dancing barefoot in the rain with my grandchildren….laughing and just having puddle fun. ya gotta love it!

  2. breaaire says:

    OOH! OOH! Floating things in the rain rivulets! *giggle* me too! Me Too! I would try to make leaf-and-stick boats… but they sank.*pout*

    I still have a mirror from when I was little that has my name on it. It hangs in my bedroom.

    I also still have a little leather bag, on a leather string, that holds my favorite stones. I take it out and open it occasionally. I use the stones for healing purposes. The leather is all soft and worn, the leather string has been replaced once, and probably will have to be again, but I don’t care. I bought leather string just for that.

    Most of the other real favorites I’ve passed on to the kids at some point, letting them know how loved these objects were, and that they were special to Mommy. The kids love them. It makes them feel special that Mom trusts them with this beloved thing, and that they can keep it.

Leave a Reply

