The rain has arrived!


I love it when the snow finally melts. Not only is it just nice to get rid of it, but it goes a long way to curing the claustrophobia I get from being hemmed in by large snow drifts for months on end. The roads in town no longer have the feel of driving through canyons, and you have clear line of sight around turns that you don’t have when the snow piles up.

The only bad thing about the snow melting is that everything looks so dirty underneath. The big cure for that is a good rain to clean everything up, and we finally got that!

I woke up last night about 2:30 because of flashing lights in my window, followed closely by some thunder off in the distance. This one was pretty mild, at least in my area, but it was appreciated none the less. The grass has already been growing, but now that we’ve had some rain, everything will green up nice.  I really love the transformation of the vegetation from slumbering brown to vibrant green. It lights up the whole valley and makes everything fresh and alive again.

I love a good thunderstorm…where the thunder shakes the house, the rain pours down in sheets and the lightning is so bright it lights up the inside of the building. There’s something so very primal about the whole thing. However, as much as I love thunderstorms, I am hoping that we don’t get any really good ones until after I get my new roof.  I spoke to the roofing guy yesterday and he said that it could be as soon as the middle of May…Yay! More about the home improvement stuff in a coming post…with pictures!

About Sparrow
I am a 47 years young and the mother of two amazing young men, who've grown up and left me mostly an Empty-Nester. I write about what's going on in my little corner of the High Plains, or what happens to be crawling across my brain on a given day. Thank you so much for stopping by. Make yourself at home...through the magic of the internet, the coffee's always free and the doughnuts are fresh!

Leave a Reply

