UND Fighting Sioux are no more


Yesterday the North Dakota Board of Higher Education gave the final vote to get rid of the University of North Dakota logo and name, The Fighting Sioux.

I won’t go into the gory details of why the largest university in North Dakota was forced to make this gargantuan change, as you can find that here: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/North_Dakota_Fighting_Sioux , but I will say that I am a little conflicted about how I feel about it, and it’s for completely selfish reasons.

The largest part of me doesn’t ever want it to change. I spent almost five of the best years of my life living and working on the UND Campus, and eventually graduating with a BA in Speech Pathology. It seriously was a time in my life when I was very happy and I wouldn’t even trade it for anything. In fact, I’ve often wished we lived closer so I could go back to school or work there.

On the other hand, my ex husband and I were both huge fans when it came to Sioux sports. We accumulated jerseys, t-shirts, a wall clock and all sorts of other stuff over the years, most of which I still have.  Now that he’s gone, it’s really soured me on the whole thing. Don’t get me wrong, I still love my alma mater, and would support them no matter what. However, if I am to be honest I’ll freely admit that I am a little relieved. Now I can go forward supporting my school and my team and not have to have the history of my married life tied to it. How selfish is that?

Now what’s the school going to call itself? What about its identity, which is such an important part of college life? I hope they choose something with as much dignity and power, and that it is something that the current and former students can be proud of. It used to be that the mascot was the Flickertail. For those of you who don’t know what that is, a picture will tell a thousand words:

North American ground squirrel in the genus Spermophilus

I do believe that if the school goes back to this, I will die a slow painful death of humiliation. How’s that for over dramatic?!

Anyway, more on this as the story develops.

About Sparrow
I am a 47 years young and the mother of two amazing young men, who've grown up and left me mostly an Empty-Nester. I write about what's going on in my little corner of the High Plains, or what happens to be crawling across my brain on a given day. Thank you so much for stopping by. Make yourself at home...through the magic of the internet, the coffee's always free and the doughnuts are fresh!

2 Responses to UND Fighting Sioux are no more

  1. Hel'wyse says:

    .I think political correctiveness should have outrun it’s popularity by now……
    I remember going to a homecoming with a pink and green knit suit on with a hat…pink.
    I know, I know…a little way out there for me….but I had just come from a garden party at a sorority

    • sparrow1969 says:

      I hear that, although I did read an article where a student made the comment that he didn’t feel like he really had a say in it as he hadn’t ever walked a mile in the shoes of a Native American, and didn’t know how it felt. It certainly was interesting task trying to explain it to the boys…needless to say they are unhappy about it. Apparently the schools here were flooded with people wearing UND Fighting Sioux t-shirts the day after the announcement, and that included the teachers as well as the students.

      In another article I read,I was pleased to see that President Kelley has confirmed that there will be no going back to the Flickertails! That made my whole weekend!

Leave a Reply

