A good Spring rain does the soul good…


Today is Easter Friday and it’s raining outside. So many people I know are moaning about the rain (which could change to snow tonight), but I am grateful for it. After the long winter, it takes a good rain to wash everything off and freshen things up.  In fact, I would like nothing better than for a great big thunder storm to come through and thoroughly wash everything clean.

My Aunty Beth, one my favorite relatives of all, used to say that the weather you got on Easter Sunday is the same weather you would get for seven Sundays afterward. I know it’s just a wives tale, but I’ve kept track over the years, and more often than not it’s accurate. I’m sure it’s just a cyclical thing like all is with weather, but I find it interesting anyway.

Speaking of cyclical things, this is the only time of year that I am truly grateful for the changing of the seasons. I love watching plants and trees wake up and turn green after a long cold winter. I love to start seeds for my garden on my kitchen table, and keep track of their progress until it gets warm enough to put them outside. I love to watch the water run as the snow drifts melt down to nothing. I love to walk outside barefoot and feel the Earth warm under my toes. Just about the only thing I don’t like about Spring is mud…damned stuff gets everywhere in the house no matter how careful you are, but it’s a small price to pay.

Today when I woke up to the rain pattering against my bedroom window, I heaved a big sigh of relief. Winter isn’t necessarily done with us, but it’s certainly on its way out. Now it’s time to plan my landscaping and my vegetable gardens. Now it’s time to make plans to have windows and doors replaced and possibly even the roof. It’s time for renewal and revitalization…and not just for my house and yard, but for me as well. The best thing of all that Spring brings is hope and new possibilities.

I think it’s fitting that Easter is in the Spring. While I have not been a Christian for a very long time, it’s still a holiday I celebrate. Not because it’s the Christian celebration of the resurrection of Jesus, but because it is a resurrection of everything up here in the cold Northern Plains. Even though I was raised a Lutheran, we never really did celebrate Easter (or any other holiday, for that matter) religiously. Easter was always a really good reason to get together with family, eat good homemade food, and have a good time. Sometimes it was very much like a mini family reunion, as we’d get to see family or friends who we hadn’t seen for a while. Today my parents are coming over for supper, and it will just be the five of us since my brother and his family couldn’t make it. It will still be a good time, and we’ll eat good homemade food, and reminisce about past Easters and the people who made them special.  I sure wish I’d made time to make some lefse…

I hope this posting finds any who read it well and having a nice Spring weekend, whether you celebrate Easter or no.

About Sparrow
I am a 47 years young and the mother of two amazing young men, who've grown up and left me mostly an Empty-Nester. I write about what's going on in my little corner of the High Plains, or what happens to be crawling across my brain on a given day. Thank you so much for stopping by. Make yourself at home...through the magic of the internet, the coffee's always free and the doughnuts are fresh!

2 Responses to A good Spring rain does the soul good…

  1. breaaire says:

    Happy Springkles! *snicker* sorry… that was really bad…

Leave a Reply

