Watching people at the Mall


I took my kids out for supper last night at the Mall. Sometimes it’s just easier to give them each some cash and let them wander around the food court and get whatever they want, which is what I did last night while I  held down a table for us. While I waited, I watched the other people around me. The group sitting to my left consisted of a couple of young ladies and their very little kids. The one small child sitting closest to me was completely left to his own devices while the ladies chatted, standing on his knees in his chair while he ate, with his cup perilously close to the edge of the table. All I could think about was the fact that, at any moment, that cup would get  knocked over the edge of the table. All parents know it’s a cardinal rule, when feeding little kids, that you never let their cups sit next to their hands…always should it go above their plates, so as to not get spilled. Yet, his mother just continued talking to her friend and didn’t pay him much mind. They got lucky, though. No spills. Either he was just a neat, careful child, or it was a good day.

So, after the boys got their food I went to get mine. It consisted of stir fried rice, vegetables and chicken. It was good, if a little too salty. A friend from work walked by and stopped to talk to us, and we had a nice conversation about home improvement projects. My older son said he was getting up to go to the restroom and when my friend went on her way, my younger son and I chatted while we waited for him to come back. When he came back, it wasn’t from the direction I anticipated. There are restrooms behind us, but he chose to use the ones in the Barnes and Noble on the other side of the Food Court. I had no idea which way he even went. Not that it’s so important in this case…my older son is almost 17 and can handle himself just fine. Still. So much for my being an observant parent.

Happy Wednesday all…

About Sparrow
I am a 47 years young and the mother of two amazing young men, who've grown up and left me mostly an Empty-Nester. I write about what's going on in my little corner of the High Plains, or what happens to be crawling across my brain on a given day. Thank you so much for stopping by. Make yourself at home...through the magic of the internet, the coffee's always free and the doughnuts are fresh!

Leave a Reply

