Free time…what to do?


I’ve got some time this morning between when I drop the boys off and go pick up my mother for our yearly birthday shopping ritual. I sit here thinking, I have an hour to myself, and I can do ANYTHING I want to!  I love the thought of just filling up the time with anything that comes to my mind.

So, what do I do with my time alone? I sit here and read blogs. Not that it’s a bad thing, but it’s unexpected. I never believed that I would enjoy writing, or reading what other people write, so much.  I find that it’s really hard to get out from in front of my computer, which is bad because I have so many other things I need to do. I’ll have to give myself a max of an hour for reading and writing, or it will take up all my time.

Speaking of taking up all of my time, it reminds me of something that’s been happening a lot lately. I’ve been daydreaming more and more…almost as though my head checks out of this universe and pops into another one. No, I’m not mentally ill. I’ve just got a lot on my brain, and it’s taking up space otherwise used for normal thought and concentration. Not only is it real life situations, but fictional stories…all swirling around in my head. My friend K.S.  (You know who you are…love you!) has suggested I write a book about some of the stuff that’s happened to me. Sometimes I start writing and it all comes out right, but then a paragraph later it is complete crap, and I believe that part of the problem is that writing a non-fiction story is not the way to go…I’ll have to put fictional framework around the kernels of truth. I think a creative writing class is in order, if for nothing else but to help give me some tools to build a framework in a story. In the mean time, perhaps some short stories may pop up here from time to time…

But now, I need to go put some gas in the van, take it through the wash and get it cleaned up, and then pick up my Mom for some shopping. It’s going to be a good day! 🙂

About Sparrow
I am a 47 years young and the mother of two amazing young men, who've grown up and left me mostly an Empty-Nester. I write about what's going on in my little corner of the High Plains, or what happens to be crawling across my brain on a given day. Thank you so much for stopping by. Make yourself at home...through the magic of the internet, the coffee's always free and the doughnuts are fresh!

Leave a Reply

