Bread from scratch


So here I sit, waiting for my pizza dough to rise. I’ve been trying to learn how to bake bread, and my first attempt was pizza dough..and what do ya know? The kids actually liked my homemade pizza. Whew! So, this is homemade pizza night#3 and I added some whole wheat flour to this batch, just to see how it goes over. My first loaf of bread didn’t turn out so well, but I’ll keep trying.

I want very much to be an expert bread maker, but the obstacle I run up against is time. I know that good food shouldn’t necessarily be fast…sometimes the good stuff is worth the wait. So, the next item on the agenda is brown buns that my mom used to make, and I’m making those this weekend.  I hope I can make it well enough that what I bake matches the memory I have…They were soooo good!

If anyone who reads this is interested, here is the pizza dough recipe I used. I should give credit to Mrs. Judy Fankhannel for this recipe. She was our Pastor’s wife when I was growing up. I haven’t seen her since I was 18, or so, but I remember that she was a nice lady, and this is a nice recipe.  Thanks, Judy!

Judy’s Pizza Crust

2 Tb granulated yeast

2 cups warm water

-Combine the above two ingredients until dissolved. Then add:

3 Tb sugar

3 tsp salt

4 Tb vegetable oil

2 cups white flour

1 cup whole wheat flour

– mix together the flours then add the yeast mixture, mixing well. Add 1-2 cups more flour, or until desired consistency. Knead until smooth as a baby’s bottom (no joking, the recipe I have really says that). Let rise for 45 minutes.

I usually pat this out into a pizza shape on my Pampered Chef round baking stone, and it should make at least two 12 inch pizza rounds, though if I was patient I could maybe stretch it out a little farther. It also makes good pizza pockets. (I have a sneaking suspicion that it would make a good recipe for buns too.) Add your favorite pizza sauce and toppings, then bake at 400 for about 20 minutes.

Enjoy!

About Sparrow
I am a 47 years young and the mother of two amazing young men, who've grown up and left me mostly an Empty-Nester. I write about what's going on in my little corner of the High Plains, or what happens to be crawling across my brain on a given day. Thank you so much for stopping by. Make yourself at home...through the magic of the internet, the coffee's always free and the doughnuts are fresh!

Leave a Reply

